The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 12, 2001, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by LJ_966
Thanks, Tom. But, my question really is, can only one player of R make a Fair Catch... when a Fair Catch is made, Team R may designate whether to next put the ball in play by either a free kick or a snap. It may also designate where such kick or snap will be from at any point between the hash marks.

When R1 signals for a fair catch, and R2 catches the kick, the ball becomes dead, but it is not a Fair Catch. But what if R2 had also gave a valid signal, after R1, or, perhaps, simultaneously with R1. Now, if R2 catches the kick, is it a Fair Catch by definition? Or can only one receiver, the one who gives a valid signal FIRST make a Fair Catch?
Read NF 6-5 and it should clear it up for you.

Basically:
Any receiver can call for a FC.
It doesn't matter which receiver signals first.
It's only a FC if the receiver who catches the ball signals.
If a signal is given, the ball is dead when caught, no matter who gives it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1