The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT
But Grant, don't you agree that R could give the ball a new force? Now, like I said, if in doubt, we have a safety.
True, but in the example giving, it says "slowly rolling" so in my interpretation it is still a kick. If the original example says, "momentarily comes to rest, then touched by R" then you would have a new force and a touchback for K. That would be fun to explain to the coach!
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 05:13pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Totally agree Grant.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
All this discussion means squat. Where was the ball snapped from? Was the 5-yard line in the neutral zone? Example: The snap was from the 10-yard line, and the ball is blocked at the 5. What do you have? There is NO 'new force' involved.

This is an example of the typical questions on these forums. Not enough information given. And everyone gives an opinion.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
"barely touches" is, to me, not a new force. Therefore, safety.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by grantsrc
True, but in the example giving, it says "slowly rolling" so in my interpretation it is still a kick. If the original example says, "momentarily comes to rest, then touched by R" then you would have a new force and a touchback for K. That would be fun to explain to the coach!
I suspect there's a misunderstanding here - if I'm wrong, my apologies, Grant.

The fact that it is still a kick would only matter (a) if the ball were going into R's end zone, or (b) if the kick were still in flight. New force may be added to a grounded kick, even if it is still rolling.
PLAY: K 4/20 @ K10. Punt from goal line is blocked by R @ K5. Ball is rolling towards the sideline @ K7 when it is muffed by R. The muff causes the ball to roll into K's end zone, where it is recovered by the punter.

RULING: Touchback. R provided a new force to the grounded scrimmage kick.
Now, our original play presumed a ball much closer to the goal line and less of an impact by R, so it sounds like a safety. But the bottom line is that on a grounded kick, it's going to be a judgement call on whether a muff by R causes the ball to enter the end zone.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 127
Under NCAA rules the facts that the kick never crossed the NZ AND that B never touched the ball beyond the NZ means that unless some illegal act (kick, bat. etc) takes place, and unless in the interim B actually has possession, if A ends up with the ball down in the EZ it is a safety. It does not matter how many times the ball was "muffed" by either team, A ball in the EZ on this play has to be a safety.
__________________
"It's easy to get the players, Getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part." - Casey Stengel
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 04, 2006, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyGardner
Under NCAA rules the facts that the kick never crossed the NZ AND that B never touched the ball beyond the NZ means that unless some illegal act (kick, bat. etc) takes place, and unless in the interim B actually has possession, if A ends up with the ball down in the EZ it is a safety. It does not matter how many times the ball was "muffed" by either team, A ball in the EZ on this play has to be a safety.
College isn't my thing (yet), but it's still good to know. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2006, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Roamin' Umpire
I suspect there's a misunderstanding here - if I'm wrong, my apologies, Grant.



The fact that it is still a kick would only matter (a) if the ball were going into R's end zone, or (b) if the kick were still in flight. New force may be added to a grounded kick, even if it is still rolling.
PLAY: K 4/20 @ K10. Punt from goal line is blocked by R @ K5. Ball is rolling towards the sideline @ K7 when it is muffed by R. The muff causes the ball to roll into K's end zone, where it is recovered by the punter.

RULING: Touchback. R provided a new force to the grounded scrimmage kick.


Now, our original play presumed a ball much closer to the goal line and less of an impact by R, so it sounds like a safety. But the bottom line is that on a grounded kick, it's going to be a judgement call on whether a muff by R causes the ball to enter the end zone.
This play is verbatim from this year's case book, page 57, 8.5.2 C. I think my confusion here is I was thinking in terms of "once a kick, always a kick" until possessed. I was specifically thinking of R's endzone, not K's endzone. Obviously when dealing with K's own endzone, that is where force and a grounded kick comes into play. I was thinking along the wrong lines. Plays like this encourage me to get into the rule and casebook and figure things out. Thanks for the clarification.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.

Last edited by grantsrc; Wed Aug 02, 2006 at 04:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 07, 2006, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: The issue in the original post isn't whether it's still a kick or not; it's who supplied the force. As described, I would go with the kick still being the force and a safety would result.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I know I kicked it..... WeekendRef Basketball 17 Wed Oct 13, 2004 05:13pm
Kicked a T? rainmaker Basketball 3 Tue Dec 09, 2003 02:09am
Kicked Call Help garote Basketball 4 Fri Oct 31, 2003 08:57am
We Kicked it! Bad mechanics? mick Baseball 9 Fri Jul 11, 2003 12:05am
Partner really "kicked it". Mark Padgett Basketball 8 Thu Oct 21, 1999 02:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1