The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 08, 2006, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by kentref
Page 68 of the 2005 Rules Study Guide (NFHS) play #16.
On a punt, the untouched ball is bouncing at Team R's five yard line when K26 bats the ball into R32. While the ball is rolling loose, R65 clips at the 10 yard line. The ball is recovered by prone K10 at the two yard line.

The ruling given in the book is that it will be Team R's ball, first and 10 at their two yard line.

The ruling apparently assumes that Team K declines the R penalty. If Team K accepts the clipping penalty, what is the enforcement spot?
Wow, after paging through the book, I conclude that this makes for a very complex ruling. Let's assume for the moment that the bat by K26 is legal. Then:
  • This is first touching by K26. (6-2-5)
  • The touch by R32 is ignored. (6-2-4)
  • Since R has not (officially) touched the ball yet, the clip by R65 will only cancel R's right to take the ball at the spot of first touching if it is accepted. (5-1-6, 6-2-5)
  • If the penalty is declined, this is easy: R1/10 @ R5 (the spot of first touching).
  • If the penalty is accepted, the clip meets all of the conditions for a PSK foul, except maybe the possession rule, because:
    • 5-1-3e doesn't apply.
    • 5-1-3f doesn't apply (the touching by R is ignored).
    • 5-1-3g doesn't apply (the right of R to take the ball at the spot of first touching is cancelled).
    • 6-2-4 suggests that K may not recover this kick, but it doesn't really say, either.
    • In other words, there's no rule to specifically tell us who will be awarded the new series.

On the field, I'm going to say that K does not have rights to the ball, so this is a PSK foul, and if K accepts the penalty, it's enforced from the end of the kick. R1/10 @ R1.


If the bat by K is illegal, then ironically enough 6-2-4 does not say the touch by R32 is ignored (), meaning that K would get to keep the ball if all fouls are declined. So the clip is not a PSK foul, which gives us simple offsetting fouls. Replay the down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scrimmage kick Forksref Football 3 Wed Nov 02, 2005 01:38pm
Scrimmage Kick waltjp Football 2 Sun Jul 24, 2005 11:02am
Scrimmage Kick/PSK or What?? BoBo Football 2 Thu Sep 09, 2004 05:03pm
scrimmage kick MRIGUY Football 3 Tue Aug 17, 2004 03:31pm
Another scrimmage Kick ABoselli Football 8 Mon Jan 06, 2003 08:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1