The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 08, 2006, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
I had this happen in a game last fall and after doing a little research, I have decided that I didn't call it right. I am on a wing. I have a defensive end on most plays simply grabbing the offensive tackle and wrestling him to the ground. No effort to make a play on the ball carrier. He was basically giving himself up in order to take the tackle out of the play. I brought it up to my WH during a timeout and he said there was nothing wrong with that. In looking at rule 9-2-3c, it says a defensive player shall not use his hands or arms to hook, lock, clamp,etc in an effort to restrain an opponent other than the runner. Am I interpreting this correctly? During the game was no time to argue with my WH about it and I wasn't sure of the rule. It just didn't seem right for the DE to do that. What's your position/expirience with this?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1