The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 08, 2006, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
I had this happen in a game last fall and after doing a little research, I have decided that I didn't call it right. I am on a wing. I have a defensive end on most plays simply grabbing the offensive tackle and wrestling him to the ground. No effort to make a play on the ball carrier. He was basically giving himself up in order to take the tackle out of the play. I brought it up to my WH during a timeout and he said there was nothing wrong with that. In looking at rule 9-2-3c, it says a defensive player shall not use his hands or arms to hook, lock, clamp,etc in an effort to restrain an opponent other than the runner. Am I interpreting this correctly? During the game was no time to argue with my WH about it and I wasn't sure of the rule. It just didn't seem right for the DE to do that. What's your position/expirience with this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 08, 2006, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 183
Lightbulb Canadian Interpretation

To call holding on D there has to be some form of advantage gained. An example would be to allow another D player through the line unblocked. If the tackle's job was to block the end and all the end did was grab the tackle then I have nothing since the tackle should be pleased that he accomplished his goal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 08, 2006, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
I would be careful as well

I would have to see it to be sure, but I would tend to let it go, unless as stated above he allowed a teammate to get to the ball directly by his actions....and certainly don't pass on it in the 1st period then nail it in the 4th LOL
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2006, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 182
Holding back a pulling lineman is also a foul. Make sure there's an impact before calling it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2006, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
This is definitely a foul but you have to see it in context to decide whether to call it or not. As the others mentioned, if the idea of holding a tackle is to let a defensive linebacker charge through the line, then it has to be called for sure. If the tackle is going after the end, then there is not impact so you let it go. If the offensive tackle is not going after the and is taking off after someone else, then I would call it as B's holding is disrupting Team A's blocking scheme.

I had a high school game as Umpire once and the offensive center and defensive nose guard held each other on every play. When possession switched, the center became the nose guard and vice versa and they continued to dance with each other. it made my job very easy as I had too less players to watch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1