The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 30, 2001, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by Zeke5
Play: (Federation)
3rd and 7 from A's 40. A86 is running a deep sideline pass
route where he, under his own power, steps on the sideline
at A's 43 and continues downfield where he catches a pass
inbounds and is tackled at B's 40.

What penalty do you assess A with? Illegal participation
or offensive pass interference?

I've heard it both ways from the guys in my chapter. I think
they are both too drastic (15 yds), but at least the
participation foul doesn't carry the loss of down.

I don't think this is OPI because a player who starts a down as an elible remains eligible during the entire down (even if he goes OOB.) This should be an illegal participation foul from my understanding of the eligability rules and from the basic principles.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1