The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 07, 2005, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
I know the NCAA has a "fumble on 4ht down" rule but I am not sure how it applies to this situation.

A's ball 4th and 5, QB drops back to pass and is pressured. While scrambling toward the LOS he is hit behind the LOS and looses control off the ball:

A) and is caught by a running back 4 yards behind the end of the run and advances beyond the LTG.

B) and is recovered (grounded ball) by a running back 4 yards behind the end of the run and advances beyond the LTG.

I am pretty sure if the fumble goes foward, only the runner loosing the ball may recover & advance. And if another player recovers, it is returned to the end of the run. Correct? Does this apply to all fumbles in any direction on 4th down?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1