The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NCAA Question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/23070-ncaa-question.html)

dumbref Mon Nov 07, 2005 03:11pm

I know the NCAA has a "fumble on 4ht down" rule but I am not sure how it applies to this situation.

A's ball 4th and 5, QB drops back to pass and is pressured. While scrambling toward the LOS he is hit behind the LOS and looses control off the ball:

A) and is caught by a running back 4 yards behind the end of the run and advances beyond the LTG.

B) and is recovered (grounded ball) by a running back 4 yards behind the end of the run and advances beyond the LTG.

I am pretty sure if the fumble goes foward, only the runner loosing the ball may recover & advance. And if another player recovers, it is returned to the end of the run. Correct? Does this apply to all fumbles in any direction on 4th down?

mcrowder Mon Nov 07, 2005 03:31pm

It applies to grounded fumbles in any direction. Sitch 1 is legal. 1st down! Sitch 2, it's B's ball at the spot of the fumble.

TXMike Mon Nov 07, 2005 03:44pm

NCAA - In both, the ball is dead when possessed by the RB and it remains at that spot. It will be B's ball since LTG was not made. Whether the fumble is caught or recovered is immaterial.

mcrowder Mon Nov 07, 2005 04:18pm

I stand corrected. Was working on too many things at once.

TXMike Mon Nov 07, 2005 04:21pm

Good thing we have those guys in the booth, huh?

dumbref Mon Nov 07, 2005 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TXMike
NCAA - In both, the ball is dead when possessed by the RB and it remains at that spot. It will be B's ball since LTG was not made. Whether the fumble is caught or recovered is immaterial.
No replay official needed - you worked that out on the field.

So the ball is spotted at the recovery if it is behind the spot of the fumble? If it is recovered beyond the spot of the fumble, it is returned to the spot of the fumble?

TXMike Mon Nov 07, 2005 04:32pm

You got it. They will NOT gain by fumbling, whole intent of the rule.

mcrowder Mon Nov 07, 2005 04:56pm

Bingo.

dumbref Wed Nov 09, 2005 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by dumbref
I know the NCAA has a "fumble on 4ht down" rule but I am not sure how it applies to this situation.

A's ball 4th and 5, QB drops back to pass and is pressured. While scrambling toward the LOS he is hit behind the LOS and looses control off the ball:

A) and is caught by a running back 4 yards behind the end of the run and advances beyond the LTG.

B) and is recovered (grounded ball) by a running back 4 yards behind the end of the run and advances beyond the LTG.

I am pretty sure if the fumble goes foward, only the runner loosing the ball may recover & advance. And if another player recovers, it is returned to the end of the run. Correct? Does this apply to all fumbles in any direction on 4th down?

If the play above were a grounded backward pass, I assume the RB could legally recover and advance?

TXMike Wed Nov 09, 2005 01:41pm

Yep, backward pass can be caught or recovered and advanced by anyone (even an "ineligible")


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1