The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 21, 2005, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 182
A fellow official and I were discussing this the other day as we had a JV team that ran the option pretty well.

Situation:
The QB meshes with the FB reading the DE, the DE took the pitch man so (Still riding the fullback) the QB and FB continue up field a good two or three yards. He ended up pulling the ball and being tackled. However, if he would have not taken the ball back, would this have constituted illegal forward handling? I said yes, he said no.
__________________
[B]Things turn out best for those that make the best out of the way things turn out - John Wooden[B]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 21, 2005, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
Once the ball cross the neutral then it becomes illegal forward handing. Flag the spot of the foul and the enforcement would be 5 yards from the spot of the foul and loss of down.
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 21, 2005, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 104
I would not call that forward handing.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 162
In this play is it illegal forward handling?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 08:47am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,985
The play in the OP...which is 7 years old by the way, is not illegal forward handing because the ball was never handed off. If the ball was handed off, it would have been a foul for illegal forward handing.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDLJ View Post
I would not call that forward handing.
Why? If the FB is in advance of the QB and they are beyond the LOS, isn't that pretty much the definition of illegal forward handing?

Quote:
ART. 2 . . . No player may hand the ball forward except during a scrimmage down before a change of possession, provided both players are in or behind the neutral zone and it is to:

a. A lineman who has clearly faced his end line by moving both feet in a half-turn and is at least 1 yard behind his line when he receives the ball.

b. A back or a teammate who, at the snap, was on an end of his line and was not the snapper nor adjacent to the snapper.
Link to Article Note Penalty Case Ruling Rule Comment Image Diagram Table Figure Exception
ART. 3 . . . During a scrimmage down after a change of team possession, no player may hand the ball forward to a teammate.

PENALTY: Illegal handing (Arts. 2, 3) – (S35- 9) – 5 yards – and loss of down. The loss-of-down penalty does not apply when there has been a change of team possession.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 09:32am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I wouldn't expect an answer. When I post, I generally check back the next few days to see what kind of responses I got. I guarantee I never check back to see if someone replied to me and quoted me seven years later!
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 162
If the qb is forward of the other back he can hand it to him beyond the LOS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 09:39am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy1033 View Post
If the qb is forward of the other back he can hand it to him beyond the LOS
Thanks. That would be backward handling...
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
I had this play several years ago in a JV game. The play was designed to have both the QB and running back have their hands on the ball at the same time. This worked fine for many plays until one time they got beyond the line of scrimmage and the running back got ahead of the QB. The QB then released the ball to the running back and we flagged it for illegal handing. The wing and I (WH) both flagged it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 10:22am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,602
Why are we resurrecting 7 year old threads? Its almost like the Romanian/Russian/ChiCom spammers are running amuck again
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 10:42am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
Why are we resurrecting 7 year old threads? Its almost like the Romanian/Russian/ChiCom spammers are running amuck again
I'm OK with real posters asking questions about threads, no matter the age. It's an interesting topic, too, as I've never actually had illegal forward handing in a game in 20+ years.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 10:49am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,985
As Rich said, I left it open because it was a legitimate question and we currently don't have a policy on thread necromancy.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: depends on your perspective
Posts: 697
I had Illegal Forward Handing in a game my first varsity season. The runner was about 10-15 yards beyond the LOS where he was contacted by a couple of would be tacklers. As the runner began to fall, he realized he had a teammate running to his left. As he slowed from contact, he simply reached forward and stuffed the ball into his teammate's bread basket who continued running.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 12:51pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,602
Quote:
I've never actually had illegal forward handing in a game in 20+ years
.

Was not my call but I was in a either a MS or JV game once where R did it on the kickoff. Only time I've ever seen it. Not as rare as Intentional PI but close, apparently.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1