![]() |
|
|
|||
A fellow official and I were discussing this the other day as we had a JV team that ran the option pretty well.
Situation: The QB meshes with the FB reading the DE, the DE took the pitch man so (Still riding the fullback) the QB and FB continue up field a good two or three yards. He ended up pulling the ball and being tackled. However, if he would have not taken the ball back, would this have constituted illegal forward handling? I said yes, he said no.
__________________
[B]Things turn out best for those that make the best out of the way things turn out - John Wooden[B] |
|
|||
Once the ball cross the neutral then it becomes illegal forward handing. Flag the spot of the foul and the enforcement would be 5 yards from the spot of the foul and loss of down.
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!" |
|
|||
Why? If the FB is in advance of the QB and they are beyond the LOS, isn't that pretty much the definition of illegal forward handing?
Quote:
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
|
|||
I wouldn't expect an answer. When I post, I generally check back the next few days to see what kind of responses I got. I guarantee I never check back to see if someone replied to me and quoted me seven years later!
![]()
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Thanks. That would be backward handling...
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
I had this play several years ago in a JV game. The play was designed to have both the QB and running back have their hands on the ball at the same time. This worked fine for many plays until one time they got beyond the line of scrimmage and the running back got ahead of the QB. The QB then released the ball to the running back and we flagged it for illegal handing. The wing and I (WH) both flagged it.
|
|
|||
The play in the OP...which is 7 years old by the way, is not illegal forward handing because the ball was never handed off. If the ball was handed off, it would have been a foul for illegal forward handing.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|