Originally posted by wisref2 It is a touchdown - see casebook play 6.2.7. The ruling reads, in part, "The ball is awarded to R when any scrimmage kick ...... becomes dead inbounds anywhere while opponents are in joint possession." Rule references 4-2-2e and 8-2-2b).
If each player is also in possession of a joint, I would use rule 9-8-1j. Since you probably don't have a field test kit with you, I would rule is as being tobacco. That would be 15 yards for unsportsmanlike. I would also confiscate the material in order to prevent future violations - preventive officiating. What you do with it after that it up to you! :)
No kick in the original play, snap was mishandled, it was just a plain old running play/fumble, that ended up in joint possession, then I have to go with the team last in possession, therefore 2-points for B, and A/K gets the opportunity to kick to B/R.
wisref2
Sun Oct 09, 2005 08:47am
Sorry, by the time I got done looking it up, I had forgotten the play! There was no kick in this play so my previous post doesn't apply.