The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Onside kick ruling (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22479-onside-kick-ruling.html)

Patton Thu Oct 06, 2005 03:34pm

Kentref,

You can't have KCI because the ball has been grounded.


[Edited by Patton on Oct 6th, 2005 at 06:17 PM]

Snake~eyes Thu Oct 06, 2005 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by kentref
To clarify: K12 is not a "12th man" on the field. Only a uniform number.

Under NFHS rules, does anyone have kick catching interference on this? The rule book appears to be "silent" on kick catching interference in the neutral zone on a free kick UNLESS the ball is in flight (i.e. has not hit the ground). It may seem appropriate to rule that the potential receiver was denied his right to the ball, but I can't find rules support for calling kick catching interference when the ball has been grounded. Agree or disagree?


Disagree, once the ball touches the ground its impossible to have KCI. When I get home I will cite the rule.

Warrenkicker Thu Oct 06, 2005 03:50pm

6-5-6 While any free-kick is in flight in or beyond the neutral zone to the receiver’s goal line or any scrimmage kick is in flight beyond the neutral zone to the receiver’s goal line, K shall not touch the ball or R, unless blocked into the ball or R or to ward off a blocker, nor obstruct R’s path to the ball. This prohibition applies even when no fair-catch signal is given, but it does not apply after a free-kick has been touched by a receiver, or after a scrimmage kick has been touched by a receiver who was clearly beyond the neutral zone at the time of touching.
EXCEPTION: K may catch, touch, muff or bat a scrimmage kick in flight beyond the neutral zone if no player of R is in position to catch the ball.

Green Thu Oct 06, 2005 04:17pm

The NZ has nothing to do with KCI, during a FK. If the ball has NOT touched the ground, it is KCI anywhere on the field, during a FK, regardless if no R players are in the area.

If the ball has hit the ground, there is no KCI. There can be first touching, in the NZ. If there is first touching, clock doesn't start.

That is the reason the kicker tops the ball, making it hit the ground and bounce into the air, so his team can field the ball beyond the NZ.

Green

U52 Fri Oct 07, 2005 08:24am

Can R signal for a fair catch if the ball has hit the ground?

l3will Fri Oct 07, 2005 08:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by U52
Can R signal for a fair catch if the ball has hit the ground?
No, R may only signal for a fair catch while the kick is in flight. "in flight" meaning that the kick has not touched the ground. If R gives a fair catch signal after the kick has touched the ground, that would be an illegal fair catch signal.

Theisey Fri Oct 07, 2005 08:50am

Lets use the correct terms for NF.

Illegal FC signals are given by runners.
Invalid FC signals are given by receivers when a FC by rule cannot be made. Such as once the ball has hit the ground as in this case.

mcrowder Fri Oct 07, 2005 09:36am

Why is this even a question still. I think it's been answered 8 times til Sunday. KCI ONLY applies to a ball in flight. A grounded ball is by definition not in flight.

largeone59 Fri Oct 07, 2005 10:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by Theisey
If you would like an NCAA result, you still have a free kick OOB but you also have an illegal block on the kickers.
It's illegal as they cannot block until they are legally able to touch the ball which they can't do yet.

Ok let me get this straight. if the ball is over the 45 yard line (NCAA assuming normal kickoff at 35), a block can be made by K. if it's not over the 45, then K cannot touch a R player? Let's assume the ball doesn't go out of bounds but is travelling towards the numbers (ball does hit the ground as in the original situation).

Theisey Fri Oct 07, 2005 01:07pm

NCAA: Team-A (K) cannot block during a F/K until the ball has gone beyond team-B's (R) restraining line (i.e. 10 yards).

Of course the standard exceptions apply such as if a team-B player touches it prior to reaching that point or it touches anything beyond the restraining line of team-B.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1