![]() |
K12 executes an onside kick from K's 40. He kicks the ball so it immediately hits the ground and bounces high into the air. R25 is moving into the neutral zone at K's 48 yard line and is in position to catch the airborne ball. Before R25 can catch the ball, K50 levels R25 with a block and the ball goes untouched out of bounds.
What have you got? |
You have a free kick out of bounds. R can have K penalized 5 yards and another free-kick, or put it in play 25 yards beyond the previous spot, OR take it at the out of bounds spot.
Since the kick touched the ground it is not kick-catching interference. |
Quote:
|
I have a dead ball Illegal participation on K
|
what????
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
jwaz is saying that "K12" is the 12th player on the field where probably in the play descrition the 12 is actually the jersey number
|
BoBo that is the way I read it.
|
Quote:
Footnote: see other play I posted on similar kickoff subject. Was there something in the air last night? |
If you would like an NCAA result, you still have a free kick OOB but you also have an illegal block on the kickers.
It's illegal as they cannot block until they are legally able to touch the ball which they can't do yet. |
I would hope that the BJ counted his players prior to leaving the field. If so, he counted 12, then at the kick, dead ball, IS. If a K ran onto the field, then IP.
I have OOB on the play, R ball at point it went OOB. Due to the post, it sounds better than the 35! |
Guyys theres a R25 and K50, i do not think K12 means the 12th guy on the field.
|
Is R25 the 25th r player on the field?
|
Quote:
|
To clarify: K12 is not a "12th man" on the field. Only a uniform number.
Under NFHS rules, does anyone have kick catching interference on this? The rule book appears to be "silent" on kick catching interference in the neutral zone on a free kick UNLESS the ball is in flight (i.e. has not hit the ground). It may seem appropriate to rule that the potential receiver was denied his right to the ball, but I can't find rules support for calling kick catching interference when the ball has been grounded. Agree or disagree? |
Kentref,
You can't have KCI because the ball has been grounded. [Edited by Patton on Oct 6th, 2005 at 06:17 PM] |
Quote:
|
6-5-6 While any free-kick is in flight in or beyond the neutral zone to the receivers goal line or any scrimmage kick is in flight beyond the neutral zone to the receivers goal line, K shall not touch the ball or R, unless blocked into the ball or R or to ward off a blocker, nor obstruct Rs path to the ball. This prohibition applies even when no fair-catch signal is given, but it does not apply after a free-kick has been touched by a receiver, or after a scrimmage kick has been touched by a receiver who was clearly beyond the neutral zone at the time of touching.
EXCEPTION: K may catch, touch, muff or bat a scrimmage kick in flight beyond the neutral zone if no player of R is in position to catch the ball. |
The NZ has nothing to do with KCI, during a FK. If the ball has NOT touched the ground, it is KCI anywhere on the field, during a FK, regardless if no R players are in the area.
If the ball has hit the ground, there is no KCI. There can be first touching, in the NZ. If there is first touching, clock doesn't start. That is the reason the kicker tops the ball, making it hit the ground and bounce into the air, so his team can field the ball beyond the NZ. Green |
Can R signal for a fair catch if the ball has hit the ground?
|
Quote:
|
Lets use the correct terms for NF.
Illegal FC signals are given by runners. Invalid FC signals are given by receivers when a FC by rule cannot be made. Such as once the ball has hit the ground as in this case. |
Why is this even a question still. I think it's been answered 8 times til Sunday. KCI ONLY applies to a ball in flight. A grounded ball is by definition not in flight.
|
Quote:
|
NCAA: Team-A (K) cannot block during a F/K until the ball has gone beyond team-B's (R) restraining line (i.e. 10 yards).
Of course the standard exceptions apply such as if a team-B player touches it prior to reaching that point or it touches anything beyond the restraining line of team-B. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29am. |