The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Oct 03, 2005, 11:38am
Official Forum Member

Had this in a 5th/6th grade game Saturday. I was Ref because the usual one was out injured. So I'm not very experienced wearing the "crown".

QB takes direct snap and pops a quick pass to his wideout. Pass was very obviously a backward pass. Both myself and the wing made eye contact, pointed backward. Players just stood there. Probably 4-5 seconds pass, a B player picks ball up throws it toward me. I step out of the way. After another second or two, the light goes off and theres a scramble, B recovers.

Just wondering how some of you guys might handle/ have handled this.

(Also, could you throw a flag for illegal forward pass on the B player for throwing me the ball?)
Old Mon Oct 03, 2005, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by ChickenOfNC
Had this in a 5th/6th grade game Saturday. I was Ref because the usual one was out injured. So I'm not very experienced wearing the "crown".

QB takes direct snap and pops a quick pass to his wideout. Pass was very obviously a backward pass. Both myself and the wing made eye contact, pointed backward. Players just stood there. Probably 4-5 seconds pass, a B player picks ball up throws it toward me. I step out of the way. After another second or two, the light goes off and theres a scramble, B recovers.

Just wondering how some of you guys might handle/ have handled this.

(Also, could you throw a flag for illegal forward pass on the B player for throwing me the ball?)
1.) I would have done the same thing as you
2.) Yes you could throw a flag against B for IFP. The penalty against B would only be a 5 yard penalty so it wouldn't be severe.
Old Mon Oct 03, 2005, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member

Re:

Thanks. I know it was only 4-5 seconds, but man it seemed like an eternity.