The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Another Friday Night botch! (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22422-another-friday-night-botch.html)

tpaul Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:19am

Again, here is a call that decieded the game!



K-6 R-7

20 seconds on the clock and running.

K 4-10 @50. K punts the ball. R muffs the kick inside the 5 yardline. K recovers on the goal line (clock ran out). Ruling:

This maybe simple call for most of us but the crew that had this game awarded a TD to K and they won the game. This is why it is so important that the whole crew understands the rules not just the referee!

yankeesfan Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:32am

out of 5 guys no one knew the rule? maybe they should never get another game, thats horrible.

Theisey Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:49am

You should be posting this to their assignors door and their chapter officers. Something is lacking in their training or rules review sessions.

mikesears Mon Oct 03, 2005 10:33am

After the officials are shown the error of their ways, somebody needs to talk to the coach and/or kids.

Was this the final play of the game? if so, what was R doing anywhere NEAR the kick? And what was K doing kicking the ball with 20 seconds left to go if they needed the score?

Sounds like EVERYONE screwed up on this play.

WhistlesAndStripes Mon Oct 03, 2005 12:55pm

OK, I'll bite, what's the correct call?

Bob M. Mon Oct 03, 2005 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
OK, I'll bite, what's the correct call?
REPLY: Note that the play said that the kick was lying on R's goal line when K recovered meaning that it broke the plane of R's goal. What is it when a legal kick breaks the plane of R's goal line?

WhistlesAndStripes Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
Quote:

Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
OK, I'll bite, what's the correct call?
REPLY: Note that the play said that the kick was lying on R's goal line when K recovered meaning that it broke the plane of R's goal. What is it when a legal kick breaks the plane of R's goal line?

I went back and re-read the post and I don't see where it says that the ball was lying on the goal line. If it was, then I see your point, Touchback. But, if in the mad scramble for the ball, the guy that ended up with it was laying on the goalline with it, then the TD is correct. In my mind, the original post isn't all that clear, but the fact that it was posted in such a way as to indicate the crew botched it, I see your point.

JasonTX Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:16pm

By NCAA the correct call is TD. But after watching this site for some time I know it's a toucback for NF rules no matter if the ball is first touched by team R (B) or not.

schwinn Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
Quote:

Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
OK, I'll bite, what's the correct call?
REPLY: Note that the play said that the kick was lying on R's goal line when K recovered meaning that it broke the plane of R's goal. What is it when a legal kick breaks the plane of R's goal line?

I went back and re-read the post and I don't see where it says that the ball was lying on the goal line. If it was, then I see your point, Touchback. But, if in the mad scramble for the ball, the guy that ended up with it was laying on the goalline with it, then the TD is correct. In my mind, the original post isn't all that clear, but the fact that it was posted in such a way as to indicate the crew botched it, I see your point.

K recovers on the goalline is the original post. Touchback when the ball breaks the plane of the goalline. If K recovers in the field of play they can't advance so there's no way K can score.

Bob M. Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:25pm

REPLY: We're going to turn you into a Federation official yet, Jason!

W & S...if K actually did recover the ball on R's goal line, then it HAD to break the plan of R's goal prior to recovery, hence a TB. If he recovered it prior to the kick penetrating R's goal, then it would be dead there since K cannot advance a kick and any advance into R's end zone would be with a dead ball. There's no way he could ever score a TD on the play as tpaul laid it out. In either case the game would be over. I don't understand what scenario you could envision where K could score a TD.

yankeesfan Mon Oct 03, 2005 02:08pm

this must of been the last play of the half, there is no way they would be punting the ball down 7-6 with only 20 seconds remaing from midfield. this just does not make sense.

WhistlesAndStripes Mon Oct 03, 2005 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
REPLY: We're going to turn you into a Federation official yet, Jason!

W & S...if K actually did recover the ball on R's goal line, then it HAD to break the plan of R's goal prior to recovery, hence a TB. If he recovered it prior to the kick penetrating R's goal, then it would be dead there since K cannot advance a kick and any advance into R's end zone would be with a dead ball. There's no way he could ever score a TD on the play as tpaul laid it out. In either case the game would be over. I don't understand what scenario you could envision where K could score a TD.

I'm not disagreeing with what you all are saying. I'm just rather new at football and trying to understand the ruling. Thanks for filling me in.

tpaul Mon Oct 03, 2005 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by yankeesfan
this must of been the last play of the half, there is no way they would be punting the ball down 7-6 with only 20 seconds remaing from midfield. this just does not make sense.
yankeesfan,
It was the end of the game. You're right. It looks as though they gave up and the game was over!


To everybody else.....
you're right something needs to be done. I am looking to get newspaper article on the game story. This action did not go un-noticed!

WhistlesAndStripes Mon Oct 03, 2005 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tpaul
Quote:

Originally posted by yankeesfan
this must of been the last play of the half, there is no way they would be punting the ball down 7-6 with only 20 seconds remaing from midfield. this just does not make sense.
yankeesfan,
It was the end of the game. You're right. It looks as though they gave up and the game was over!


To everybody else.....
you're right something needs to be done. I am looking to get newspaper article on the game story. This action did not go un-noticed!

Now now. These things happen. If R had scored more earlier in the game, they wouldn't have been in this position to begin with. You can't blame the loss on the officiating crew. Where'd this game happen anyhow?

tpaul Mon Oct 03, 2005 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
Quote:

Originally posted by tpaul
Quote:

Originally posted by yankeesfan
this must of been the last play of the half, there is no way they would be punting the ball down 7-6 with only 20 seconds remaing from midfield. this just does not make sense.
yankeesfan,
It was the end of the game. You're right. It looks as though they gave up and the game was over!


To everybody else.....
you're right something needs to be done. I am looking to get newspaper article on the game story. This action did not go un-noticed!

Now now. These things happen. If R had scored more earlier in the game, they wouldn't have been in this position to begin with. You can't blame the loss on the officiating crew. Where'd this game happen anyhow?

Blame the officials? They gave A TD when it should have been a TB for B game over...The officals decieded the game and did it incorrectly!

I don't want to name locations because there are a lot of good officials in the area and I wouldn't want to bring the rest down because of the botch job of 5!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1