![]() |
|
|||
I remember reading a discussion on this board (I thought)about a case play with ball carrier, feet in bounds at the 3YL or somewhere close to GL, reaching ball around OB side of pylon. RULING was TD.
Can someone point me to that discussion, 'cause there were some good examples to go with that particular ruling, ie. player airborne near GL etc. I want to share the knowledge with my stubborn LJ who doesn't get the Goal Line, or plane extended. If there is something in the NFHS Rulebook, please guide me to it. Also, where the GL pylons should be set as we survey the field in our pregame. This has met with contoversy in our crew as well. Thanks J |
|
|||
There is a few occasions when you can listen to pro football TV announcers. John Madden always says "the goal line extends around the world."
The comic book (you can purchase from NFHS) shows this exactly as you need to see it. The rule used to be 2-25-3. Check in that vicinity of the rule book as I don't have my book handy. |
|
|||
Check out this thread: http://www.officialforum.com/thread/22320
Not sure its much of a discussion. Basically the pylons should be on the edge where the sideline meets the field of play. And the adjacent edge should meet the edge of the goaline where it touches the field of play. Does that make sense? |
|
|||
that always confused me about the pylons and where they were located. even though the pylons are located out of bounds, they are still considered "in" the endzone.
i never knew such a thing as an "extended goal line" exists. can someone explain this concept to me? (as you can see, i am not an official. haha) thanks |
|
|||
Quote:
The runner can score a TD if he reaches with the ball and it breaks the plane of the goal line extended (outside the pylon). However, he must have at least one foot on the ground when this happens. IF he is diving (in the air), the ball will be spotted where he (ball) crossed the sideline and it will not be a TD. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Re: NFHS RULE?
Quote:
|
|
|||
Many thanks
Thanks guys, for some reason, I've run into more than one person (one new official, and one that worked years ago) who never heard of the plane of the goal extending infinitely beyond the sidelines.
J |
|
|||
REPLY: Here are two plays that might help:
PLAY: A10 enters Bs end zone by running from the field of play into the endzone while (a) holding the ball over the goal line, or (b) holding the ball over the out-of-bounds areaoutside the pylonso that it passes over the extension of the goal line. RULING: In both cases, it is a TD for A. Whether it crosses the goal line itself, or the extended goal line, its a touchdown. In this case, the extended goal line does have significance since the runner was touching the ground inbounds. PLAY: Runner A42 leaves the field of play at the two yardline and dives for the endzone, but crosses the sideline at Bs one. He passes over an extension of the goal line, and lands in the area beyond the extension of the goal line adjacent to B's endzone. (a) He is able to reach with the ball in such a way that it passes inside the pylon and over the goal line, or (b) the ball passes over the extension of the goal line outside the pylon. RULING: In (a) its a TD since the ball crossed the plane of the goal line; (b) the ball would be dead at Bs 1 (the spot where the ball crossed the sideline). The extension of the goal line has no significance in (b) since the runner was not touching the ground inbounds.
__________________
Bob M. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|