![]()  | 
	
| 
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			K punting (scrimmage kick) from R 45 yard line.  Grounded scrimmage kick is bouncing towards R goal line.  It is batted legally by K2 at the R 1 yard line.  Batted ball touches R2 at the three yard line.   
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	What happens in the following situations? A)K3 falls on the ball at the R 3 yard line. B)R3 falls on the ball at the R 5 yard line. Another question... Is the touching by R2 ignored because the ball was batted into him?  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 [Edited by yankeesfan on Sep 29th, 2005 at 09:31 AM]  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			If K's bat is the only reason that the ball touched R then the touching is ignored. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	6.2.4 SITUATION: It is fourth and 10 and K11 punts the ball from Ks 40-yard line. While R1 and K1 are engaged in blocking downfield at Rs 30-yard line, K2 legally bats the ball at Rs 28-yard line and the batted ball touches R1 on the leg. Then, K3 recovers the ball at the 30-yard line. RULING: This touching by R is ignored and R will have the choice of taking the ball at the spot of first touching or the dead-ball spot.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			In both cases you have first touching at R's 1.  R has the choice of taking the ball at the spot of first touching or where the ball becomes dead.  Obviously, in both cases R will choose to have the ball at the point it became dead.  In a) R's 3 and in b) R's 5.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	"I love it when they boo!"  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			The 2nd touching by R is only ignored if he was blocked/pushed into the ball or K bats the ball into him, correct? 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Now if R was dancing around the ball while his HC was screaming to get away from the ball - we've all heard that coming from the SL - and it takes a wild bounce and hits R, we now have a live ball which K can recover, right? WM  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 R touching a kick after first touching does not take away that right.  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |