The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Just a Situation (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22359-just-situation.html)

jrfath Thu Sep 29, 2005 08:21am

K punting (scrimmage kick) from R 45 yard line. Grounded scrimmage kick is bouncing towards R goal line. It is batted legally by K2 at the R 1 yard line. Batted ball touches R2 at the three yard line.

What happens in the following situations?

A)K3 falls on the ball at the R 3 yard line.
B)R3 falls on the ball at the R 5 yard line.


Another question...
Is the touching by R2 ignored because the ball was batted into him?

yankeesfan Thu Sep 29, 2005 08:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by jrfath
K punting (scrimmage kick) from R 45 yard line. Grounded scrimmage kick is bouncing towards R goal line. It is batted legally by K2 at the R 1 yard line. Batted ball touches R2 at the three yard line.

What happens in the following situations?

A)K3 falls on the ball at the R 3 yard line.
B)R3 falls on the ball at the R 5 yard line.


Another question...
Is the touching by R2 ignored because the ball was batted into him?

yes. first touching. A. R's ball at the spot of first touching. B. R's ball on the 5 yard line.

[Edited by yankeesfan on Sep 29th, 2005 at 09:31 AM]

Warrenkicker Thu Sep 29, 2005 09:19am

If K's bat is the only reason that the ball touched R then the touching is ignored.

6.2.4 SITUATION: It is fourth and 10 and K11 punts the ball from K’s 40-yard line. While R1 and K1 are engaged in blocking downfield at R’s 30-yard line, K2 legally bats the ball at R’s 28-yard line and the batted ball touches R1 on the leg. Then, K3 recovers the ball at the 30-yard line. RULING: This touching by R is ignored and R will have the choice of taking the ball at the spot of first touching or the dead-ball spot.

SoGARef Thu Sep 29, 2005 10:06am

In both cases you have first touching at R's 1. R has the choice of taking the ball at the spot of first touching or where the ball becomes dead. Obviously, in both cases R will choose to have the ball at the point it became dead. In a) R's 3 and in b) R's 5.

WyMike Thu Sep 29, 2005 10:07am

The 2nd touching by R is only ignored if he was blocked/pushed into the ball or K bats the ball into him, correct?

Now if R was dancing around the ball while his HC was screaming to get away from the ball - we've all heard that coming from the SL - and it takes a wild bounce and hits R, we now have a live ball which K can recover, right?

WM

l3will Thu Sep 29, 2005 10:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by WyMike
The 2nd touching by R is only ignored if he was blocked/pushed into the ball or K bats the ball into him, correct?

Now if R was dancing around the ball while his HC was screaming to get away from the ball - we've all heard that coming from the SL - and it takes a wild bounce and hits R, we now have a live ball which K can recover, right?

WM

Sure K can recover, but if K touched the ball first... first touching, R retains the right to take possession of the ball at the spot of first touching unless R fouls after the first touching.

R touching a kick after first touching does not take away that right.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1