The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 28, 2005, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: minnesota
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally posted by Daryl H. Long
The ball became dead when the scrimmage kick was recovered by K after being touched by R beyond the neutral zone. At that point the down also ended. No matter what happened on the play the officials were going to stop the clock. Why? to award a new series to either K or R.

So what if a foul occurred? After giving penalty options the only thing to determine is (1)whose possession, (2)what down and (3)whether it is a new series or not,and (4)when to start clock.

R declines K's Penalty:
1. K possession - in possession due to result of play 5-1-3f, 5-2-2
2. 1st - because new series awarded 5-1-3f, 5-2-1, 5-2-5f, 5-2-6
3. new series awarded 5-1-3f(do not confuse this with K reaching the line to gain which is NF 5-1-3a)
4. Snap 3-4-3c

R accepts penalty:
1. K possession 5-2-1
2. 4th - replay the down following enforcement. 5-2-2
3. no new series awarded.
4. Snap - 3-4-2b3. The action which caused the ball to become dead (recovery of scrimmage kick beyond neutal zone). This action also causes the clock to be stopped and the down to end.

***The action causing the clock to be stopped dictates when to start the clock. Remember 3-4-2b says start clock on ready but gives (3) exceptions which would start the clock on the snap instead. In our case exception 3 applies because the action which ended the down also DID cause the clock to stop therefore clock starts on the snap.

So I guess you wouldn't start the clock on the ready for this situation either....

A's ball fourth and 4, A runs the ball and gains 3 yards, but during the play B committed defensive holding. A accepts the penalty for the defensive holding and gets awarded a first down because the ball is now beyond the line to gain.

However, according to what Daryl says... we stopped the clock to award B a new series. So the clock would not start until A snapped the ball, even though we didn't award B a new series.

But since we didn't award B series, I would start the clock on the ready.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1