The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 10, 2005, 06:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally posted by keystoneref
Almost this exact play is in the casebook. 4.2.3 pg 32. K's ball 4th and 12 on R's 45 yard line. K8's punt is rolling on R's 16 when an inadvertant whistle sounds. R76 blocks K84 in the back on R's 22 yrd line during the down prior to the whistle. Ruling: If the penalty is accepted, the foul negates the inadvertant whistle and results in a previous spot enforcement. If the penalty is declined, the inadvertant whistle during a loose ball dictates a replay the down.
Another FED inconsistency.

I have to thank keystoneref for doing my research for me. I was not looking at that new casebook play. I was looking at 10.4.3 situation F.

Now, please tell me ... who is in team possession at the time the ball became dead in 10.4.3.F? For a scrimmage kick, who is in team possession when the kick goes out of bounds between the goal lines? Who is in team possession when the ball is at rest and is touched by K? What makes these different from an inadvertent whistle? These occurrences all appear in the same rule - 4-2-2.

4.2.3 Situation F is a bad ruling, inconsistent with similar situations. But who am I to complain? It's typical of the FED, and I should be used to it by now!

Sigh.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1