The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 01, 2005, 08:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to BigGref
Last Friday I noticed around 3 minutes before the end of the 1st half that the Home teams L guard was #41, he got switched out after an injury a few minutes prior. The team was on a drive inside their opp. 30 yd line, and I personally decided to let it go and bring it up at halftime. I told my WH about it and he told me I should of thrown the flag then. I was wondering what some of the other guys on the forum think.

In addition, the coach had the player change jerseys at halftime and neither coach complained. Should we penalize as we see or take game situation into account? (HS 5A Varsity game top level)
Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 01, 2005, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
A "Top level Varsity game", and this illegal formation was permitted to continue? I'd hate to be the crew the following week and have the same situation correctly flagged and have to listen to the coach saying, "they let us play like this last week".

This is as basic a foul as you can get, should be flagged and the player removed until the correct numbering for a lineman is worn. I'm assuming that the numbering for other 6 players on the line are correct. Changing jerseys on the sideline is not a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 02, 2005, 12:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
I also assume that with #41 playing guard there were only 4 players numbered 50-79 at the snap. I agree with your referee that you should have immediately called the penalty.

However the penalty is Illegal numbering (7-2-5 Penalty) and not illegal formation. The only thing they have in common is the signal is the same for both infractions.

Food for thought:

Of course if they shifted into a scrimmage kick formation with the QB & yards deep taking the long snap #41 could take a position on the line between the ends on every play as the numbering requirement is ignored in this situation. In this case #41 is ineligible throughout the down due to his position.

Additionally, if there are 5 players numbered 50 -79 on the line #41 may line up as the L guard with no penalty. Again, he is an ineligible pass receiver during the down because of his position.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 02, 2005, 07:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 180
I might have let this go in a middle school game or an ankle biter game, but VARSITY - no way. At that level, they have to get this right. Flag 'em.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 02, 2005, 08:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob Lyle
I might have let this go in a middle school game or an ankle biter game, but VARSITY - no way. At that level, they have to get this right. Flag 'em.
This is not illegal if there are 5 other players 50-79 on the line. He would be ineligible because of his position.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 02, 2005, 09:35am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by Daryl H. Long
Of course if they shifted into a scrimmage kick formation with the QB & yards deep taking the long snap #41 could take a position on the line between the ends on every play as the numbering requirement is ignored in this situation. In this case #41 is ineligible throughout the down due to his position.
So if a team runs nothing but shotgun, QB seven yards from center, the numbering requirements are waived? Does your C get protection on every snap as well?
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 02, 2005, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by Daryl H. Long
Of course if they shifted into a scrimmage kick formation with the QB & yards deep taking the long snap #41 could take a position on the line between the ends on every play as the numbering requirement is ignored in this situation. In this case #41 is ineligible throughout the down due to his position.
So if a team runs nothing but shotgun, QB seven yards from center, the numbering requirements are waived? Does your C get protection on every snap as well?
Yes to both questions.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 02, 2005, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by Daryl H. Long
Of course if they shifted into a scrimmage kick formation with the QB & yards deep taking the long snap #41 could take a position on the line between the ends on every play as the numbering requirement is ignored in this situation. In this case #41 is ineligible throughout the down due to his position.
So if a team runs nothing but shotgun, QB seven yards from center, the numbering requirements are waived? Does your C get protection on every snap as well?
By rule, yes. Now, in practice, most shotgun formations don't have the QB that far behind the line.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 02, 2005, 02:22pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by The Roamin' Umpire
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
So if a team runs nothing but shotgun, QB seven yards from center, the numbering requirements are waived? Does your C get protection on every snap as well?
By rule, yes. Now, in practice, most shotgun formations don't have the QB that far behind the line.
Can you please site NFHS rules references.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 02, 2005, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: NF 2-14-2 is the definition of a scrimmage-kick formation. and NF 9-4-6 is the prohibition against charging directly into the snapper when A/K is in a scrimmage kick formation.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1