The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 02, 2005, 12:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
I also assume that with #41 playing guard there were only 4 players numbered 50-79 at the snap. I agree with your referee that you should have immediately called the penalty.

However the penalty is Illegal numbering (7-2-5 Penalty) and not illegal formation. The only thing they have in common is the signal is the same for both infractions.

Food for thought:

Of course if they shifted into a scrimmage kick formation with the QB & yards deep taking the long snap #41 could take a position on the line between the ends on every play as the numbering requirement is ignored in this situation. In this case #41 is ineligible throughout the down due to his position.

Additionally, if there are 5 players numbered 50 -79 on the line #41 may line up as the L guard with no penalty. Again, he is an ineligible pass receiver during the down because of his position.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1