The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 14, 2005, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: No...I think I did say 'replay.' I was basing that on NF 5-1-2 which says that you can't award a new series until you take into account all action (fouls) that occur during the down. Yes, K will normally be awarded a new series based upon R's touching beyond the neutral zone, but...their foul does throw a monkey wrench into that. Isn't that the same for all items in NF 5-1-3? Take 5-1-3a for example. "A new series is awarded to...Team A if the ball belongs to A on or beyond the line to-gain." Sure...but what if A fouls during that play? Do you still award the new series? Of course not. Why should it be any different for 5-1-3f? All of those 5-1-3 cases where a new series is due to be awarded are dependent upon fouls and their acceptance or declination. At least that's my opinion. I may be wrong, but there's nothing that clearly says that 5-1-3f should be excluded from the same 5-1-2 filter that the other 5-1-3 items need to pass through.

Likewise, for the play where both teams foul (IDF and DPI) this is a double foul since there is no change of possession, and you would replay the down. 'Clean hands' has no relevance in these plays since K was in team possession for the entire down.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1