![]() |
I agree with you both, and you will not see me flagging it on free kicks. It is just what the state (NC) passed down to us.
|
Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...
NC also has this interpretation. What do you think about it?
"If the receiver comes onto the field after the ready signal and sets outside the 9-yard marks, his going into motion during the cadence and moving inside the 9-yard marks DOES NOT bring him into compliance with Rule 7.2.1 and this would be an Illegal Formation penalty." I assume this indicates the receiver does not reset inside the 9-yard marks after going in motion. |
I think it's wrong. The rule says that play would be legal and it will be legal in the other 47 states - just not in NC!
|
Re: Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...
Quote:
|
Out of ALL the rules the NFHS has come up with this is by far {in my opinion} has to be the dumbest. I understand the reasoning behind it to take the trickery out of the game, but this kills a two minute offense, not to mention your no huddle teams. I know that it gives you a yardage mark to go by, but I cannot agree with it.
|
In my association, we've been told that if A12 comes in and lines up outside of the 9's to let it go if B sees him and has time to react and adjust.
|
Re: Re: Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...
Quote:
Also to those who said the fields did not have the 9 yard marks, did they have the yard numbers painted on the field? If so, there is your 9 yard marks at the top of the numbers. Oh and yes this is an illegal formation foul, not IP or IS. |
REPLY: I said this on another board. I might as well say it here too. (Fed only)
If the player is not within the 9-yard marks but <u>does</u> draw coverage, please don't flag it. This should take care of no-huddle, two-minute, run-n-shoot offenses. The purpose of the rule is to cut out the nonsense where a team attempts to use a 'hideout' but <u>not</u> in violation of rule 9-6-4d. A good example: Team runs a pass play. After the down ends, WR comes back toward the LOS but stays close to the sideline while his team huddles. He's not participating in a substitution or even a pretended substitution so NF 9-6-4d can't apply. He just doesn't go to the huddle. Nothing says he has to. But clearly he's acting as a 'sleeper' on the sideline, and is also not making it obvious to the defense that he's part of the game. The principle behind the rule is this: If he comes inside the nine-yard marks, it's now <b>the defense's responsibility</b> to know he's there. Outside the nine-yard marks, it's <b>the offense's responsibility</b> that the defense knows he's there. As long as the defense is aware of him, let it go. "Don't trouble trouble until trouble troubles you." |
Quote:
|
Ok, got a question. The referee gives the ready for play, all offenceive players are inside the marks. For some reason the coach asks the ref a question the ref calls for a official time out (it lasts about 5 seconds) the ref then gives the ready for play again. The wide-outs are outside the marks. Should they have to get inside the marks before the snap?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Don't get carried away on this. MOST IMPORTANT, understand the intent of the rule - to prevent deceptive substitutions. Players lined up, you blow the whistle to snap a helmet (which takes two seconds), you blow the ready and the wideouts don't move back inside the marks - that is technically a foul for illegal formation. Are you really going to flag it?
It's encroachment for a defensive player to be in the neutral zone after the ready for play. You see it 20 times a game, have you ever called it? We pass on a hand in slightly in the neutral zone, a small hold away from the ball, etc. It's just like the old 15 yard rule, which I've probably called twice in 20+ years, except now it's 9 yards from the sideline. Just keep calling it the same and everyone will be fine. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
I think we use common sense, but must call this if it happens for the most part. I feel it is different than a receiver who while coming to the LOS goes slightly in the NZ and then gets back, or a lineman who has his head slightly inside the NZ. I agree, no flag on those and talk to them, but I am not so sure on the new 9 yard rule. I would give them a little slack, and talk to them so it doesn't happen again, but if they are not close, I think we need a flag. I guarentee you, if you flag them once and they know why, it will NEVER be a problem again. Bob M and wiseref, I am interested in what you think of my comments. |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11pm. |