The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   9-yard marks (https://forum.officiating.com/football/21811-9-yard-marks.html)

jrfath Mon Aug 22, 2005 03:19pm

I agree with you both, and you will not see me flagging it on free kicks. It is just what the state (NC) passed down to us.

jrfath Mon Aug 22, 2005 03:43pm

Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...
 
NC also has this interpretation. What do you think about it?

"If the receiver comes onto the field after the ready signal and sets outside the 9-yard marks, his going into motion during the cadence and moving inside the 9-yard marks DOES NOT bring him into compliance with Rule 7.2.1 and this would be an Illegal Formation penalty."

I assume this indicates the receiver does not reset inside the 9-yard marks after going in motion.

JDLJ Mon Aug 22, 2005 03:51pm

I think it's wrong. The rule says that play would be legal and it will be legal in the other 47 states - just not in NC!

Snake~eyes Mon Aug 22, 2005 03:54pm

Re: Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by jrfath
NC also has this interpretation. What do you think about it?

"If the receiver comes onto the field after the ready signal and sets outside the 9-yard marks, his going into motion during the cadence and moving inside the 9-yard marks DOES NOT bring him into compliance with Rule 7.2.1 and this would be an Illegal Formation penalty."

I assume this indicates the receiver does not reset inside the 9-yard marks after going in motion.

That sounds really wierd to me, that would be legal where I am.

Was He Down Mon Aug 22, 2005 06:02pm

Out of ALL the rules the NFHS has come up with this is by far {in my opinion} has to be the dumbest. I understand the reasoning behind it to take the trickery out of the game, but this kills a two minute offense, not to mention your no huddle teams. I know that it gives you a yardage mark to go by, but I cannot agree with it.

Mark Dexter Mon Aug 22, 2005 06:51pm

In my association, we've been told that if A12 comes in and lines up outside of the 9's to let it go if B sees him and has time to react and adjust.

cowbyfan1 Tue Aug 23, 2005 04:57am

Re: Re: Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:

Originally posted by jrfath
NC also has this interpretation. What do you think about it?

"If the receiver comes onto the field after the ready signal and sets outside the 9-yard marks, his going into motion during the cadence and moving inside the 9-yard marks DOES NOT bring him into compliance with Rule 7.2.1 and this would be an Illegal Formation penalty."

I assume this indicates the receiver does not reset inside the 9-yard marks after going in motion.

That sounds really wierd to me, that would be legal where I am.

It is legal as he got inside the 9 yard marks after the ready and before the snap. Just what the rule states.

Also to those who said the fields did not have the 9 yard marks, did they have the yard numbers painted on the field? If so, there is your 9 yard marks at the top of the numbers.

Oh and yes this is an illegal formation foul, not IP or IS.

Bob M. Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:36am

REPLY: I said this on another board. I might as well say it here too. (Fed only)

If the player is not within the 9-yard marks but <u>does</u> draw coverage, please don't flag it. This should take care of no-huddle, two-minute, run-n-shoot offenses. The purpose of the rule is to cut out the nonsense where a team attempts to use a 'hideout' but <u>not</u> in violation of rule 9-6-4d. A good example: Team runs a pass play. After the down ends, WR comes back toward the LOS but stays close to the sideline while his team huddles. He's not participating in a substitution or even a pretended substitution so NF 9-6-4d can't apply. He just doesn't go to the huddle. Nothing says he has to. But clearly he's acting as a 'sleeper' on the sideline, and is also not making it obvious to the defense that he's part of the game. The principle behind the rule is this: If he comes inside the nine-yard marks, it's now <b>the defense's responsibility</b> to know he's there. Outside the nine-yard marks, it's <b>the offense's responsibility</b> that the defense knows he's there. As long as the defense is aware of him, let it go. "Don't trouble trouble until trouble troubles you."

Snake~eyes Tue Aug 23, 2005 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
REPLY: I said this on another board. I might as well say it here too. (Fed only)

If the player is not within the 9-yard marks but <u>does</u> draw coverage, please don't flag it. This should take care of no-huddle, two-minute, run-n-shoot offenses. The purpose of the rule is to cut out the nonsense where a team attempts to use a 'hideout' but <u>not</u> in violation of rule 9-6-4d. A good example: Team runs a pass play. After the down ends, WR comes back toward the LOS but stays close to the sideline while his team huddles. He's not participating in a substitution or even a pretended substitution so NF 9-6-4d can't apply. He just doesn't go to the huddle. Nothing says he has to. But clearly he's acting as a 'sleeper' on the sideline, and is also not making it obvious to the defense that he's part of the game. The principle behind the rule is this: If he comes inside the nine-yard marks, it's now <b>the defense's responsibility</b> to know he's there. Outside the nine-yard marks, it's <b>the offense's responsibility</b> that the defense knows he's there. As long as the defense is aware of him, let it go. "Don't trouble trouble until trouble troubles you."

I agree with Bob's philosophy and that's the approach my crew is taking.

Samdog Tue Aug 23, 2005 09:12pm

Ok, got a question. The referee gives the ready for play, all offenceive players are inside the marks. For some reason the coach asks the ref a question the ref calls for a official time out (it lasts about 5 seconds) the ref then gives the ready for play again. The wide-outs are outside the marks. Should they have to get inside the marks before the snap?

w_sohl Tue Aug 23, 2005 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Was He Down
Out of ALL the rules the NFHS has come up with this is by far {in my opinion} has to be the dumbest. I understand the reasoning behind it to take the trickery out of the game, but this kills a two minute offense, not to mention your no huddle teams. I know that it gives you a yardage mark to go by, but I cannot agree with it.
This rule has always been there, it is just reworded. Before it was worded that the players had to be within 15 yards of the ball at some poiint before the snap. Now there are marks on the field to help you find the mark and make sure that players are in compliance.

w_sohl Tue Aug 23, 2005 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Samdog
Ok, got a question. The referee gives the ready for play, all offenceive players are inside the marks. For some reason the coach asks the ref a question the ref calls for a official time out (it lasts about 5 seconds) the ref then gives the ready for play again. The wide-outs are outside the marks. Should they have to get inside the marks before the snap?
Absolutely...

wisref2 Tue Aug 23, 2005 10:35pm

Don't get carried away on this. MOST IMPORTANT, understand the intent of the rule - to prevent deceptive substitutions. Players lined up, you blow the whistle to snap a helmet (which takes two seconds), you blow the ready and the wideouts don't move back inside the marks - that is technically a foul for illegal formation. Are you really going to flag it?

It's encroachment for a defensive player to be in the neutral zone after the ready for play. You see it 20 times a game, have you ever called it? We pass on a hand in slightly in the neutral zone, a small hold away from the ball, etc.

It's just like the old 15 yard rule, which I've probably called twice in 20+ years, except now it's 9 yards from the sideline. Just keep calling it the same and everyone will be fine.

whaddayouknow Wed Aug 24, 2005 01:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
the coach says, "There are supposed to be 9-yard marks??? What are those? Was that in the big packet the IHSA sent me?"
Quote:

Originally posted by kdf5
the guy did quite a number on the field, including marking every yard line from sideline to sideline.
Somewhere there's a field crew saying, "Coach, I marked it off just like you said, every ninth yard line. Do you want me to do anything with the one yard left over?"

MJT Wed Aug 24, 2005 09:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by wisref2
Don't get carried away on this. MOST IMPORTANT, understand the intent of the rule - to prevent deceptive substitutions. Players lined up, you blow the whistle to snap a helmet (which takes two seconds), you blow the ready and the wideouts don't move back inside the marks - that is technically a foul for illegal formation. Are you really going to flag it?

It's encroachment for a defensive player to be in the neutral zone after the ready for play. You see it 20 times a game, have you ever called it? We pass on a hand in slightly in the neutral zone, a small hold away from the ball, etc.

It's just like the old 15 yard rule, which I've probably called twice in 20+ years, except now it's 9 yards from the sideline. Just keep calling it the same and everyone will be fine.

Wiseref, while I agree with you and Bob M in many of your points, I'm not sure this shouldn't be called rather tight. If a team only has 6 on the LOS, they are gaining no advantage, and tricking no one, but I bet you would flag that one every time. Now if that 7th man is close, you may give him the benefit of doubt and talk to him, just as if the player is within a yard of the 9 yard marks you might do the same, but if you let him stand a yard from the sideline every play he is gaining an advantage already by spreading out the defense more. I know he could start inside the marks and go in motion and at the snap by a yard from the sideline, but that is more difficult for him that to be set way out there and looking back at the ball.

I think we use common sense, but must call this if it happens for the most part. I feel it is different than a receiver who while coming to the LOS goes slightly in the NZ and then gets back, or a lineman who has his head slightly inside the NZ. I agree, no flag on those and talk to them, but I am not so sure on the new 9 yard rule. I would give them a little slack, and talk to them so it doesn't happen again, but if they are not close, I think we need a flag. I guarentee you, if you flag them once and they know why, it will NEVER be a problem again.

Bob M and wiseref, I am interested in what you think of my comments.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1