![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			There is a question on Part 1 regarding whether the runner can 'spear'. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Outside of the fact I'd be hardpressed to make a spearing call on a runner putting his head down to bull his way through a LB, I can't find a definitive ruling on it. Tonight at our assoc. meeting rule 2.39 was mentioned. "The intentional use of the helmet to punish an opponet." I can't find a specific ruling deeming this is only for the D. If a blocking lineman "butt-blocks" it is a foul. If the D leads with his head, it is a foul. Isn't a running back lowering his head and leading with it to "punish" a LB covered by the definition of "spearing". Can someone point me to a rule? WM  | 
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |