The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 17, 2005, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Need an NFHS interpretation of a play situation:

B player gives a valid fair catch signal on a punt and muffs the ball. Right after he muffs the ball, he is hit by an A player. I have been told this is a legal play. Here is my confusion-- the rule states that a player who gives a valid fair catch signal is afforded protection until the kick ends or becomes dead by rule. Well, if a B player gives a valid fair catch signal and muffs the ball, the kick has not ended, nor is it dead by rule. Is it legal for him to be hit after he muffs the ball and before the kick ends?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1