The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member

Few years ago in a varsity game I had a QB take a real shot on a tackle. He gets right up and starts walking to the huddle. I am U and he starts to walk toward me stumbling, he was knocked out cold but is staggering toward me. As he gets to me he falls, my choice is to either grab him or to let him faceplant the dirt. Out of instinct I grab him and hold him up as the training staff gets to me. I was unsure if this was the right thing to do but out of instinct I did not want to see him hit the ground. He was ok and actually played later that game.
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member

I'm not a lawyer but I think it would sound a lot better to a jury trying to decide blame that I caught the kid as he was stumbling and falling rather than get up there and testify that he started to fall and I stepped aside and watched him topple.
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim D
Fonzy,

Did you make the catch?
Hell Yes but lets say the coaches were impressed. The funny part is it was the back up qb cause rs was out, after that game the coaches sat him down and told him he was no longer gonna play qb. I felt bad for him, I never blamed him for it, that sorta stuff happens in the game and well thats part of what makes the game great. But the coaches praised me and blamed him for everything.
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member