The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
I just read a case play and now I'm thinking the 28. In my former post I was incorrect in ruling TD from what I can see in the official case play. I believe I'm incorrect because the momentum of the A player. (not to be confused with the momentum rule). If the A player had been over the endzone and pushed back into the field of play and hitting the ground there, then ONLY then it could be ruled a TD.

Case 2.15.1

It is 1st and 10 for A at B's 12 yard line. A1 sprints near the endline and buttonhooks. He jumps and possesses a fwd pass while in the air above the endzone. (a) A1's momentum carries him back into the field of play and he lands and is downed on the 1-yard line; or (b) while in the air in the end zone, he is contacted by B1 and he then lands and is downed on the B's 2-yard line.

Ruling: In (a) it's A's ball 1st and Goal at the 1. In (b) it's a TD if the covering official judges the contact by B1 is the cause of A1 coming down at the 2 yard line.

So in Mike's play, I'm assuming it was the momentum of the player's movement in the comeback route and the reason A came down at the 28 was because he ran that kind of route. His catch was completed at the 28 and any kind of progress toward B's goal line would have ended there. JUST a guess but that's what I'm thinking now that I have read this case play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1