The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 21, 2005, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to RedCisc
How about this twist re: an onside kick? NF

You people are so helpful to a new person like me. Thank you so much! I hope that you don't feel like you are taking my exam for me, its just that some of these scenarios require alot more experience than a rookie has to offer.

NF Case scenario: On an onside kickoff from the A-40, A82 muffs the rolling ball at the A-48, and then falls on the ball at the A-49. After A82 muffed the ball, B51 spun him around by his facemask at the A-48, but A82 was still able to recover the ball there.

I think I read that Ruling 6.1.1 establishes the free kick lines as: the 40 yard line for team A and the 50 yard line for team B. (“These lines are always 10 yards apart"). Rule 6.1.6 states “If any kicker touches a free kick before it crosses R’s free-kick line and before it is touched there by any R player, it is referred to as “first touching” of the kick.” R may take the ball at the spot of first touching, ....

I understand this to mean that it will be B’s ball at the A-48.

However the last sentence says, "The right of R to take the ball at the spot of first touching by K is canceled if R touches the kick and thereafter during the down commits a foul or if the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down."

So does that mean it is A's ball @ A-49?

I'm sorry to be so voluminous.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1