The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 03, 2005, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 260
This play happened in a youth game with a 3 man crew. I probably should have added that in at the start, but I am more interested in what the linesman should have done in this situation, (regardless of the crew size).

For this type of play does it make any sense for the linesman (who sees joint possession), to drop a beanbag at the yardline where he sees the joint possession? He then continues to officiate and confers with the umpire when the play's over. Let's say that's what happened, and after the linesman and umpire confer, they decide it was joint possession. You move the ball back to yardline marked by the beanbag and it remains A's ball. Now, do you put time back on the clock?

Note: I don't like to see the umpire determining when the play's over (i.e., determining that forward progress was stopped), and that's pretty much what I'm conceding in the previous paragraph. However, in this situation, if it's the linesman that eventually blows his whistle (after he's dropped his beanbag earlier), that just seems awkward, since he should have stopped the play at the joint possession spot. Thoughts?
__________________
kentref
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1