The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2005, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally posted by PAUMP
I agree with the second and third answers but not the first. In this case you have a muff which is a free ball. A muff can be recovered by either team but not advanced by the kicking team. Since the ball was recovered in the end zone it is a touchdown.
A muff would ultimately determine who gets possession of the ball or what happens to the ball if force is involved but force is never a factor for kicks going into B's endzone as these are always touchbacks and it became a touchback as soon as it crossed the plane of the goalline. You might be thinking of NCAA rules and I have no clue how they would handle this situation but in NFHS, this is a TB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1