The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 09, 2005, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
I'm with Bob M on this one.



Here is the Series of Downs rule with the "conflicting" rules. (Rule 5-1-3):

When a scrimmage down ends with the ball in the field of play or out of bounds between the goal lines, a new series is awarded to:

B, if at the end of the fourth down, the ball belongs to A behind the line to gain.


The team in possession at the end of the down, if R is the first to touch a scrimmage kick while it is beyond the expanded neutral zone, unless the penalty is accepted for a non post-scrimmage kick foul which occurred before the kick ended.



In my opinion the more specific rule that deals with our situation is the 2nd rule BECAUSE it involves R touching a scrimmage kick beyond the ENZ. That act will give the TEAM in possession of the ball a new series when the down ends. Team possession did not change during the down. An incomplete forward pass does not change team possession. Team A still has team possession.


Let's remove the incomplete pass totally from the equation. What would the ruling be? Which rule takes precedence?



[Edited by mikesears on Mar 9th, 2005 at 10:59 AM]
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1