Quote:
Originally posted by ljudge
K's ball 4th and 10 from team K's 20. K24 muffs the snap and recovers the ball at the K's 13 yard line. He picks up the ball runs to K's 22 yardline where he finally kicks the ball. K41 interferes with R81's opportunity to catch the ball at the R42. R81 finally recovers the ball at the R40 and during his return R72 blocks a K player in the back at R's 45. R81 is finally tackled at K's 30.
Both codes certainly welcome but as always please specify what code you're referring to in your response.
|
NF ruling: There is no foul for kick catching interference since it is not a legal scrimmage kick. It is an illegal kick, which is treated as a fumble in NF. This is a 15 yard penalty from the spot of the illegal kick, but if R accepts K's penalty, R's foul will result in a double foul and a replay of the down. If R declines the illegal kick, their foul for BIB must be enforced. It would be 1-10 at the 45, (55 yards for a TD) since foul would be enforced from the spot of the foul as it was behind the end of the run.
NCAA ruling: This is an illegal kick and the ball becomes dead becomes dead at the spot of the illegal kick. It is a 5 yard penalty from the previous spot, 1-10 for Team B at the 17.