The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Weekly Q: Kicking Game (https://forum.officiating.com/football/17834-weekly-q-kicking-game.html)

ljudge Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:28am

K's ball 4th and 10 from team K's 20. K24 muffs the snap and recovers the ball at the K's 13 yard line. He picks up the ball runs to K's 22 yardline where he finally kicks the ball. K41 interferes with R81's opportunity to catch the ball at the R42. R81 finally recovers the ball at the R40 and during his return R72 blocks a K player in the back at R's 45. R81 is finally tackled at K's 30.

Both codes certainly welcome but as always please specify what code you're referring to in your response.

TXMike Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:25am

NCAA Ball was dead as soon as it was kicked at the Team A 22 yard line. 5 yard penalty to the 17 and it will be 1st and 10 for Team B.

All that other stuff was when ball was dead and it appears to be the crew's fault for not killing the action so I would wave all that (KCI, BIB ) off.

MJT Sat Jan 22, 2005 07:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ljudge
K's ball 4th and 10 from team K's 20. K24 muffs the snap and recovers the ball at the K's 13 yard line. He picks up the ball runs to K's 22 yardline where he finally kicks the ball. K41 interferes with R81's opportunity to catch the ball at the R42. R81 finally recovers the ball at the R40 and during his return R72 blocks a K player in the back at R's 45. R81 is finally tackled at K's 30.

Both codes certainly welcome but as always please specify what code you're referring to in your response.

NF ruling: There is no foul for kick catching interference since it is not a legal scrimmage kick. It is an illegal kick, which is treated as a fumble in NF. This is a 15 yard penalty from the spot of the illegal kick, but if R accepts K's penalty, R's foul will result in a double foul and a replay of the down. If R declines the illegal kick, their foul for BIB must be enforced. It would be 1-10 at the 45, (55 yards for a TD) since foul would be enforced from the spot of the foul as it was behind the end of the run.

NCAA ruling: This is an illegal kick and the ball becomes dead becomes dead at the spot of the illegal kick. It is a 5 yard penalty from the previous spot, 1-10 for Team B at the 17.

ljudge Sun Jan 23, 2005 08:34am

That's what I was looking for, MJT. The illegal nature of the kick negates any flags for KCI. The BJ should have dropped a flag because he would have no way of knowing from that far down field that kick was illegal. Just check the math on the enforcement. Should be the 35.

TXMike Sun Jan 23, 2005 09:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by MJT
NCAA ruling: This is an illegal kick and the ball becomes dead becomes dead at the spot of the illegal kick. It is a 5 yard penalty from the previous spot, 1-10 for Team B at the 17.
You are right on the enforcement spot (previous spot which was A-20) which I missed as I said from spot of kick (A-22).
But that puts ball at the A-15, not the A-17.

1st and 10 for B due to LOD provision.

MJT Sun Jan 23, 2005 10:11am

Ya, I got my R's and K's messed up, should be 35, and I guess yesterday subtracting by 5 was to difficult for me.

JugglingReferee Sun Jan 23, 2005 12:09pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ljudge
K's ball 4th and 10 from team K's 20. K24 muffs the snap and recovers the ball at the K's 13 yard line. He picks up the ball runs to K's 22 yardline where he finally kicks the ball. K41 interferes with R81's opportunity to catch the ball at the R42. R81 finally recovers the ball at the R40 and during his return R72 blocks a K player in the back at R's 45. R81 is finally tackled at K's 30.

Both codes certainly welcome but as always please specify what code you're referring to in your response.

NY on K41
UR on K41
BR on R72

R1D/10 @ K53.

The Roamin' Umpire Mon Jan 24, 2005 03:53pm

Ok, I've been meaning to ask for a while: what, exactly, does a foul for No Yards entail?

mcrowder Mon Jan 24, 2005 05:53pm

No Yards penalty: Think first-touch by the kicking team on a rolling punt (NCAA or NFL).

TXMike Mon Jan 24, 2005 07:07pm

In the NCAA code we refer to those as "violations" not fouls.

Bob Mc Tue Jan 25, 2005 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TXMike
In the NCAA code we refer to those as "violations" not fouls.
Yeah, I have this strange visualization of some 300 pound lineman going to the referee. "Mr. Referee, sir, I believe I have just been violated."

What are you going to tell him, TXMike? :D

JasonTX Tue Jan 25, 2005 12:54pm

[/B][/QUOTE]

Yeah, I have this strange visualization of some 300 pound lineman going to the referee. "Mr. Referee, sir, I believe I have just been violated."

What are you going to tell him, TXMike? :D [/B][/QUOTE]

You must be referring to "illegal touching"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1