The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2005, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Middleman is correct. The rules allowing a player to momentarily pull or push an opponent in the back (2-3-4c and 2-3-5b) is solely for the purpose of allowing that player to get to a loose ball. This is not in conflict with 9-2-1c and 9-2-3c which prohibit a player from holding (grasping) an opponent in an attempt to restrain him. If a player were doing the latter (grasping his opponent), it could never be interpreted that he was attempting to get to a loose ball. Two situations:

(1) A fumbled ball is rolling loose around midfield. B21 momentarily grabs A23's jersey and pulls him out of the path to the ball so he (B21) can recover it. LEGAL.

(2) A fumbled ball is rolling loose around midfield. B21 grabs A23 around the waist and and restrains him so that B10 can recover the loose ball. HOLDING by B21.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1