The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 10, 2005, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Good point, Theisey, except that it's flat wrong. It IS simple, but opposite from what you say. If the ball went out of bounds first, it's out of bounds. Simple. If the ball crossed the endzone line in bounds first, it's a TD - also simple.

The definition of the pylon is that it's in the endzone, but nowhere would anyone imply that the pylon is IN bounds. In fact, there are numerous other references saying that it is OUT of bounds, (including 4.2.3-b and the rule refering to a receiver that touches the pylon while making a catch).

Think of it this way - even if you insist that 423b applies here, and that a ball touching a pylon is, at that moment, out of bounds beyond the end line, that does NOT say that the ball in question is a TD, and while at that moment the ball is out of bounds beyond the end line, if the ball hits the FRONT of the pylon, it was previously out of bounds SHORT OF the endline. It doesn't suddenly become a TD just because the ball, already out of bounds, is stretched to meet the pylon. This argument is ludicrous.

PS - just to make sure I'm not the idiot here, I consulted with the local NCAA rules gurus (2 high school, 2 college). Unanimously, they stated that a ball striking the "front" of the pylon carried by an airborne player is OUT OF BOUNDS, and not a TD.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1