The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 24, 2004, 02:47pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
Do you guys have a specific ruling that backs that up? I have never seen any place that says a holder cannot recover the ball in order to complete the kick. They only thing I have ever read about this is they make a specific ruling on a high snap and say that is OK. But I have never read where you could not recover a snap as a holder, as long as you are trying to complete the kick. Now if you get up and look like you are going to run, that is another story. I would like an official ruling, not just "that is the way it is" talk.

Peace
The difference is in #1, he caught the high snap, and in #2 he recovered the grounded snap, and that is why #1 is legal and #2 would be dead when he goes back to the knee. 4.2.2C and 4.2.2D in the case book are exactly these senarios. This is an NF ruling and in NCAA it is legal in both cases. I feel it is rather silly cuz it is not really any different, he is just trying to get the hold down for the kick.

[Edited by MJT on Dec 24th, 2004 at 03:19 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1