The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2004, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by jks7777
NCAA Rules.

Team A is punting to Team B from Team A's 6 Yard Line.
Ball is punted across the neutral zone.
Due to the short punt players from Team B avoid the ball.
Ball bounces on the Team A's 18 yard line and hops back into the endzone. Punter from Team A touches the ball 2 yards deep in the endzone.

No player from Team B touches the ball.
First player to touch the ball is the punter after the ball crosses the neural zone twice.
What is the call? Touchdown for Team B or Safety.

I could not find an answer for this situtation in the NCAA rule book. What are your thoughts?

J
I know you are looking for NCAA answer but I thought I'd post the NF answer here.

The force that put the ball into A's endzone was the punt. If it became dead there, it would be a safety. It can't be a touchdown for B because B never had possession.

Also, the ball would remain live when A possessed it because they recovered the punt behind the neutral zone; therefore they may advance the ball. Team A simply touching the ball is insignificant.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1