The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 05, 2004, 01:08am
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Post It's not an automatic safety!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Simbio
Thanks for the responses...

If I read rule 8.5.2C correctly, any team in possession of the ball, if they commit a spot foul in their own endzone, the result would be a safety...

Does anyone disagree with this and can you provide support as to why...?
Remember, it is only a safety if the penalty is accepted:
Case play:
A's ball 1st and ten on the A 1 yard line
A1 throws a forward pass which is intercepted by B1 on the A 15 yard line and returned to the A 3 yard line. Prior to the pass A71 is flagged or holding in the A endzone.
Options for captain of B:
Accept the penalty and the result of the play is a safety.
Decline the penalty, B's ball 1st and goal on the A 3 yard line.

Depending on the game situation, A may want to decline the penalty and go for the touchdown!
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1