The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Interception AND foul in the EZ (https://forum.officiating.com/football/16286-interception-foul-ez.html)

Simbio Thu Nov 04, 2004 12:44pm

Some friends and I have been going back and forth on this:

B1 intercepts in B's endzone and is downed there after scrambling around in the endzone. After the interception and prior to B1 being downed in the endzone, B2 blocks A2 in the back in the endzone.

Where would you mark the penalty off from and what would be the results of the play?

[Edited by Simbio on Nov 4th, 2004 at 01:17 PM]

Bob M. Thu Nov 04, 2004 01:00pm

REPLY: It depends. Where did the foul take place? The basic spot is B's 20 since the final result of the play is a touchback. If the foul occurred behind the basic spot (likely) the penalty would be enforced from the spot of the foul. If the foul occurred beyond B's 20, then the penalty is enforced from B's 20--the basic spot. Remember, if the foul took place in B's end zone (behind the basic spot) it will result in a safety.

KWH Thu Nov 04, 2004 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Simbio
Some friends and I have been going back and forth on this:

B1 intercepts in B's endzone and is downed there after scrambling around in the endzone. After the interception and prior to B1 being downed in the endzone, B2 blocks A2 in the back.

Where would you mark the penalty off from and what would be the results of the play?

You left out an important piece of information, that being; Where did the foul by B2 occur?

Thus, I will give you two answers:
Since in either case the final result of the play is a touchback (See NFHS 10-4-5d), the basic spot is the succeeding spot (the B 20 yad line), Therefore:
a) If the foul by B2 occured between the B20 and the B goal line enforce the penalty from that spot since the run by B ended (by rule) at the B20 yard line, AND the foul (again by rule) occured behind the basic spot. (See 10-4-5d)
b) If the foul by B2 occured in B's endzone, the result of the play is a safety. (See 8-5-2c)


Also,
For a CASEBOOK reference please see 10.4.5 SITUATION H

KWH Thu Nov 04, 2004 01:08pm

Looks like I BobM and I responded at the same time.
Great minds think alike...

Simbio Thu Nov 04, 2004 01:16pm

Sorry for leaving that out.

The illegal block occurred in the endzone as well. I have now edited my original post. Thanks.

Simbio Thu Nov 04, 2004 05:56pm

Thanks for the responses...

If I read rule 8.5.2C correctly, any team in possession of the ball, if they commit a spot foul in their own endzone, the result would be a safety...

Does anyone disagree with this and can you provide support as to why...?

MJT Thu Nov 04, 2004 08:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Simbio
Thanks for the responses...

If I read rule 8.5.2C correctly, any team in possession of the ball, if they commit a spot foul in their own endzone, the result would be a safety...

Does anyone disagree with this and can you provide support as to why...?

I cannot think of, or find any time that this would not be a safety if it was the only that occured during the play.

KWH Fri Nov 05, 2004 01:08am

It's not an automatic safety!!!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Simbio
Thanks for the responses...

If I read rule 8.5.2C correctly, any team in possession of the ball, if they commit a spot foul in their own endzone, the result would be a safety...

Does anyone disagree with this and can you provide support as to why...?

Remember,<b> it is only a safety if the penalty is accepted</b>:
Case play:
A's ball 1st and ten on the A 1 yard line
A1 throws a forward pass which is intercepted by B1 on the A 15 yard line and returned to the A 3 yard line. Prior to the pass A71 is flagged or holding in the A endzone.
Options for captain of B:
Accept the penalty and the result of the play is a safety.
Decline the penalty, B's ball 1st and goal on the A 3 yard line.

<i>Depending on the game situation, A may want to decline the penalty and go for the touchdown!</i>

PSU213 Sat Nov 06, 2004 12:41am

Re: It's not an automatic safety!!!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by KWH
Quote:

Originally posted by Simbio
Thanks for the responses...

If I read rule 8.5.2C correctly, any team in possession of the ball, if they commit a spot foul in their own endzone, the result would be a safety...

Does anyone disagree with this and can you provide support as to why...?

Remember,<b> it is only a safety if the penalty is accepted</b>:
Case play:
A's ball 1st and ten on the A 1 yard line
A1 throws a forward pass which is intercepted by B1 on the A 15 yard line and returned to the A 3 yard line. Prior to the pass A71 is flagged or holding in the A endzone.
Options for captain of B:
Accept the penalty and the result of the play is a safety.
Decline the penalty, B's ball 1st and goal on the A 3 yard line.

<i>Depending on the game situation, A may want to decline the penalty and go for the touchdown!</i>

A cannot get the ball by declining the penalty. A's pass was intercepted by B in B's EZ. There was a foul by B in that EZ, and the B ball carrier was tackled there. If A declines the foul, it will be B's ball 1/10 at the 20. If A accepts the foul, they get 2 points, and the get the ball on a free kick. Perhaps if A has a stellar (as in really spectacular) defense they may decline the penatly, but most of the time there is really not much choice here--take the 2 points and the free kick.

KWH Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:08am

Re: Re: It's not an automatic safety!!!
 
PSU213 -
I am not sure who you are responding to. Perhaps you need to re-read <b>my</b> case play again. It is distintly different than the original play posted. My point was simply this, there may be times when "B" may want to decline the penalty and give up the two points in order to obtain the football.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1