The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 07:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Had an interesting conversation with a JV coach last night. TD was called back due to OH. Player A put both hands under defensive players shoulder pads and pulled him to the ground. Coach went nuts claiming that it was legal because his hands were inside the frame. I responded with " no player shall grasp, grab,or block with closed hands inside the frame. He said that's horse**** and I didn't know the rules. I thanked him for that information and said you have two timeouts left.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 07:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally posted by wh52
He said that's horse**** and I didn't know the rules. I thanked him for that information and said you have two timeouts left.

I would have added "and one unsportsmanlike left"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 09:24am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally posted by James Neil
Quote:
Originally posted by wh52
He said that's horse**** and I didn't know the rules. I thanked him for that information and said you have two timeouts left.

I would have added "and one unsportsmanlike left"
Yup. And pull is the word that makes it a hold.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Ask him how you get a player to the ground without holding him.

I agree his description of your explanation would qualify him for 15 more yards.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 710
Ask him how you get a player to the ground without holding him.

Maybe he talked him into it?

JV coaches - love those guys.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 175
You're a gentleman

You certainly qualify to be a gentleman of style and grace. I think you handled the situation correctly.

Butthead JV coaches are in training to become even bigger buttheads when they move up to varsity. And they still don't know the rules.

Good job!
__________________
CW4 Paul Gilmore
Installation Food Advisor
Camp Beauregard
Alexandria, LA
Louisiana NG
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Wink Re: You're a gentleman

Quote:
Originally posted by chiefgil
You certainly qualify to be a gentleman of style and grace. I think you handled the situation correctly.

Butthead JV coaches are in training to become even bigger buttheads when they move up to varsity. And they still don't know the rules.

Good job!

Rules? We don't need no stinkin' RULES!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 201
How about a B player 'pulling' down an A player? Defensive Holding? Do you allow it and where?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 12:00pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by WyMike
How about a B player 'pulling' down an A player? Defensive Holding? Do you allow it and where?
2-3-5b says "defensive players may push, PULL, or ward off an opponent in an attempt to get at the runner."
So it depends on when and where, which is usually obvious. I have called defensive holding on a D-lineman who was tackling an O-lineman as he tried to release and get a block on a linebacker. Obviously def holding on receivers, and so on.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 63
Send a message via MSN to MI Official Send a message via Skype™ to MI Official
how about this

on an option play around the end. QB keeps and the Defender tackles the pitch man. holding? I would say yes because, although he is a potential blocker, he is BEHIND the runner and not faking.
__________________
That looked just ugly enough to be legal.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally posted by MJT

2-3-5b says "defensive players may push, PULL, or ward off an opponent in an attempt to get at the runner."
So it depends on when and where, which is usually obvious. I have called defensive holding on a D-lineman who was tackling an O-lineman as he tried to release and get a block on a linebacker. Obviously def holding on receivers, and so on.
That is where I was leading to. The word 'pull' within the line obviously contemplates the fact in order to 'pull' one must have a grasp of something, right?

I have flagged DH but only once and away from the play entirely. But the B player totally took down an A player by wrapping him up in a huge bear hug and taking him to the ground.

Now if the NFHS would only define 'Pull' and 'Sling' in Section 2...

Quote:
Originally posted by MI Official
on an option play around the end. QB keeps and the Defender tackles the pitch man. holding? I would say yes because, although he is a potential blocker, he is BEHIND the runner and not faking.
This I would agree with. But the pitchman can still be 'blocked'. Now what if the pitchman was forward of the QB? DPI?

[Edited by WyMike on Oct 22nd, 2004 at 03:59 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
In Fed, can you have DPI behind the NZ? If not, then I can't see DPI here unless the QB is behind the line and pitchman in front (and there's enough separation for you to tell the difference, and the hit came at just the right moment, and ....... heck - it would be quite a situation to make this DPI).
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 04:12pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
In Fed, can you have DPI behind the NZ? If not, then I can't see DPI here unless the QB is behind the line and pitchman in front (and there's enough separation for you to tell the difference, and the hit came at just the right moment, and ....... heck - it would be quite a situation to make this DPI).
In NF you cannot have DPI behind the NZ 7-5-7
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2004, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Didn't think so. Makes the DPI on the pitch man pretty much not possible except in the most bizarre of circumstances.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 25, 2004, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
WyMike...."I have flagged DH but only once and away from the play entirely. But the B player totally took down an A player by wrapping him up in a huge bear hug and taking him to the ground."


if it is away from the play and has no effect on the play, never and I can't stress it enough never call holding... a personal foul if it is warranted or something, but never holding....Holding is purely an advantage/disadvantage call..and if it is away from the play there is no advantage...a stern warning and maybe a don't be foolish, but not a hanky...BTW, did you guys get any playoff games up your way??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1