The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2004, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by kdf5
Our crew had almost the identical play a few weeks ago. A was in punt formation and the punter bobbled the snap in the EZ, the punter took off running, B grabs him, spins him around and he heaves the ball downfield before falling over.

We had intentional grounding and ineligible receiver's, a multiple foul. I gave them the choice of ineligibles, which was 5 yards and replay 4th, intentional grounding for a safety or declining both and their ball 1st and 10 at A's 8. B took the safety.

In light of this post were these the correct choices?
REPLY: I believe that the only foul in your scenario is an illegal forward pass which will result in a safety whether or not B accepts the penalty (I'm assuming he threw the ball from his endzone.) You cannot have any ineligibles downfield since eligibility rules only apply to legal forward passes. (See NF 7-5-6: "Pass eligibility rules apply only to a legal forward pass.")
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1