The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 06, 2004, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by BigGref
Friday Night. 4th and 3, K sets up for the punt. The end, set as a back, takes a step forward (close, but in my judgement didn't feign a snap) and reset. Even though no Defensive player came offsides, the defense was very livid at the no call. Is there anything here, or is the whole argument based on whether or not the End feigned a snap?
REPLY: Do you think he missed the snap count and came forward as a result? If so, you should have a false start. If you think he was just moving--slowly and smoothly--to a new position, the only concern is whether he was able to set for one second before the snap. If so, you have no foul; if not, you'll have a flag simultaneous with the snap for an illegal shift if he stops but not for the full second, or for illegal motion if he's still moving forward at the snap.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1