The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 27, 2004, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bentonville, AR
Posts: 461
Send a message via AIM to jumpmaster Send a message via MSN to jumpmaster Send a message via Yahoo to jumpmaster
Question

much to my chagrin, I agreed to call a pee-wee game on Saturday to help out one of my buddies. As could be expected the local league has various rules that they have tacked onto an already convoluted FED rule book to make things "fair".

Sitch: 2nd half - A scores a touchdown using an ineligible reciever (local rule, can only play receiver one half - if he touches the ball). After the RFP, prior to the snap on the try, the game administrator who is responsible for keeping track of eligibility, calls for an official timeout and informs me that the receiver is inelligible and the coach of B knows and is making an issue of it. The chains have already moved and I have way of knowing what the previous spot is.

What would you do?
__________________
Alan Roper

Stand your ground. Don't fire unless fired upon, but if they mean to have a war, let it begin here - CPT John Parker, April 19, 1775, Lexington, Mass
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 27, 2004, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 59
I assume that there are no official stats. Therefore:

1) Ask the administrator where the previous spot was.

2) If he doesn't know, then split the difference between what the A and B coaches tell you it was.

3) Tell my buddy to lose my phone #.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 27, 2004, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally posted by jumpmaster
(local rule, can only play receiver one half - if he touches the ball)
That may be one of the dumbest rules I've heard yet.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 27, 2004, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
We had a sitch where a player was suspended for a half by game administration. After a play in which he ran the ball, and we'd already moved chains, our admin came and told us that he should not have played, and we needed to rule USC on the play. We asked him where the ball was before we'd moved the chains. He did not know, so we did not enforce this "out-of-rulebook" penalty. If admin is going to disrupt the game, he damn well better be able to tell us EXACTLY what we are required to "fix" it, or we simply can't.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 27, 2004, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 86
Talking

In mcrowder's position, I would simply have asked the game administrator to go eject the coach for playing the suspended player. I'm sure he would love to go talk to the coach.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 27, 2004, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally posted by Patton
Quote:
Originally posted by jumpmaster
(local rule, can only play receiver one half - if he touches the ball)
That may be one of the dumbest rules I've heard yet.
I don't think this is necessarily a bad rule, but it is a bad idea to have the officials enforce it. Let's say the receiver is #21. Have game administration clearly tell the coach that 21 cannot play in the 2nd half. If he plays, it's a forfeit (or something of that nature), but definitely take it out of the hands of the officials.
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 29, 2004, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally posted by jumpmaster
What would you do?
Never work with this 'friend' again. Or never work in this league again. Take your pick. Pee-wee is supposed to be fun and instructional for the kids. Let the coaches figure it out.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 02, 2004, 04:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally posted by jumpmaster
...the game administrator who is responsible for keeping track of eligibility...
That tells the story right there for me. If they want funny stuff like that (not necesarily all bad), they need to do a better job of giving the officials a way to enforce it.

I did pee-wees not long ago in a league where certain players had a sizeable piece of orange tape on the back of their helmet. While on offense, the players with tape were not allowed to touch the ball if their team was up by a certain amouint of points (sorta like a mercy rule, but it put restrcitions on the team rather than a running clock, etc.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 02, 2004, 04:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
We had a sitch where a player was suspended for a half by game administration. After a play in which he ran the ball, and we'd already moved chains, our admin came and told us that he should not have played, and we needed to rule USC on the play. We asked him where the ball was before we'd moved the chains. He did not know, so we did not enforce this "out-of-rulebook" penalty. If admin is going to disrupt the game, he damn well better be able to tell us EXACTLY what we are required to "fix" it, or we simply can't.
I realize that this is pee-wees and they have their own quirks, but what if this came up in a strictly Fed. situation?
I don't have USC in any situation, but even if it was USC, the penalty would be administered from the succeding spot.
If an ejected player returns, we have illegal participation. 9-6-4e
However, a suspended player (school, league, state, etc.) doesn't fall under our jurisdiction. I know that I've read a ruling on that somewhre. It's probably a state ruling, but I'm not sure. Can anybody help out?

Jonathan
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 02, 2004, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to Jersey Ref
Pee Wee

I tell all coaches the way I am going to call the game as reference to calls and their rules and that I don't want to hear anything from them it is an instructional day for me and that I am not there to throw flags but help the kids to understand the game better this usually works when I set the tone in the begining. I do this games a lot because I believe that as officials we have a responsiblity to help teach these kids the rules and good sportsmanship. Look at this way and you will always have a good time. As far as the game Admin for this penalty I would administer it from about were the LOS was and discuss the reseting of the chains with both coaches at the same time. I have had some of my greatest laughs with these kids
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 02, 2004, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 175
DQ the Coach

jransom,

If a previously DQ'd player returns, not only do you have IP, but you also have a HC who should be DQ'd for allowing the player to return.
__________________
CW4 Paul Gilmore
Installation Food Advisor
Camp Beauregard
Alexandria, LA
Louisiana NG
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1