The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 25, 2004, 06:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Team A is in punt formation, seeing that they only have 10 men on the field they send a player in. The player is nearing or at 15 yards of the ball when the ball is snapped.

They had the legal number on the line. Is there a foul here?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 25, 2004, 07:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 63
NF

As long as the player had been within 15 yards and not offsides, then no. Unless you have an illegal shift , illegal motion, or some other penalty. As long as the player is close to 15 yards and it's in no way deceptive then I'll give him the benefit of the doubt.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 25, 2004, 08:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
So if Player A comes onto the field after his team has come set, there would be no problem?

If he comes onto the field prior to them coming set there would be an illegal shift issue?

How about if he is coming onto the field somewhere from behind the formation and is in a definite movement toward the LOS?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 25, 2004, 08:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
After the final shift and before the snap, the entire team needs to be set. If the 11th player is still running to his position at the snap, we have an illegal shift because he never came set.

If the 11th player comes just onto the field, stops for a second, and then runs toward his position, we probably still have a flag for illegal procedure for not being within 15 yards of the ball. (Remotely possible that he's OK if the ball is on the near hash.)

If the guy runs to within 15 yards of the ball, stops for a second, and then continues to his position, and he's not moving towards the line at the snap, then we have legal motion and no flag. Even if he ran towards the LOS (before or after setting), as long as he's not going forward at the snap, he's ok.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1