The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to BigGref
Would the NFL ruling on illegal touching on Monday Night by the quarterback, who was under center, be correct in Fed rules. Is he on the line or off under center/shotgun?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, Washington
Posts: 422
Send a message via ICQ to Jim S Send a message via AIM to Jim S
Didn't see the call, was working a game, but under FED rules a QB is a back, and an eligible receiver.
__________________
Jim Schroeder

Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 566
McNabb was under center, took the snap made a quick drop and threw a backward pass to Westbrook I think.

The guy Westbrook wanted to throw to wasn't open and so he started to run back towards McNabb who had taken off downfield a bit.

Close to being tackled, Westbrook threw a pass to McNabb who caught it and ran a few yards.

No flag was thrown at first until Tice went crazy on the sideline threw the red flag getting the officials to discuss the call. Illegal Touching was ruled on McNabb.

I think this would be a legal play under FED rules. It's a similar play my team has run for years and it has never been ruled anything but a completed pass.

[Edited by gsf23 on Sep 21st, 2004 at 03:33 PM]
__________________
"Booze, broads, and bullsh!t. If you got all that, what else do you need?"."
- Harry Caray -
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally posted by gsf23
McNabb was under center, took the snap made a quick drop and threw a backward pass to Westbrook I think.

The guy Westbrook wanted to throw to wasn't open and so he started to run back towards McNabb who had taken off downfield a bit.

Close to being tackled, Westbrook threw a pass to McNabb who caught it and ran a few yards.

No flag was thrown at first until Tice went crazy on the sideline threw the red flag getting the officials to discuss the call. Illegal Touching was ruled on McNabb.

I think this would be a legal play under FED rules. It's a similar play my team has run for years and it has never been ruled anything but a completed pass.

[Edited by gsf23 on Sep 21st, 2004 at 03:33 PM]
I was wondering the same thing. I never heard of this at the NFHS level, I am pretty sure this is just an NFL rule.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 248
Only one back is allowed to break the imaginary line of the snapper and he must be in position to receive a hand to hand snap. This is the QB.

In NFHS the QB is a back and therefore eligible to receive a pass.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
I'm sure this friday when we see a halfback pass to the QB we'll have some coaches yelling that he wasn't in a shotgun. Just great, another weird difference in the NFL that fans will start yelling about.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 149
It was actually # 83 Mitchell who took the backward pass from McNabb.

However, if Mitchell was in an eligible receivers position at the snap, I think the officials screwed up. Here is the NFL rule on that.

A T-formation quarterback is not eligible to receive a forward pass during a play from scrimmage.

Exception: T-formation quarterback becomes eligible if pass is previously touched by an eligible receiver.

Maybe Mitchell was covered up?
__________________
"I love it when they boo!"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 248
Hmm... interesting.

Maybe that exception is if a FORWARD pass is touched by the eligible receiver. Since this was backward, maybe the exception doesn't apply?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 07:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 107
Unless I'm mistaken, you can't have two forward passes on one play in the NFL...

My guess is that the exception refers to a forward pass that gets deflected by an eligible receiver... That is, if the QB throws the ball, ball is deflected by the WR, then the ball can be caught by the QB...

But then, I've never seen the NFL rulebook...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 07:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by SoGARef
It was actually # 83 Mitchell who took the backward pass from McNabb.

However, if Mitchell was in an eligible receivers position at the snap, I think the officials screwed up. Here is the NFL rule on that.

A T-formation quarterback is not eligible to receive a forward pass during a play from scrimmage.

Exception: T-formation quarterback becomes eligible if pass is previously touched by an eligible receiver.

Maybe Mitchell was covered up?
You're misinterpreting the rule.

This rule refers to a forward pass being tipped by an eligible receiver.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to BigGref
Quote:
Originally posted by PiggSkin
Unless I'm mistaken, you can't have two forward passes on one play in the NFL...

My guess is that the exception refers to a forward pass that gets deflected by an eligible receiver... That is, if the QB throws the ball, ball is deflected by the WR, then the ball can be caught by the QB...

But then, I've never seen the NFL rulebook...
Had my first multiple forward passes last night, it was fun! No coaches said anything but the fans next to the press box were cackling. The clock guy, who has done a pretty bad job this year, came up and asked about it after the game. This is about the 3rd time he came after the game to comment about something, I usually try to clear somethings out about timing during this time also.


Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to BigGref
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
I'm sure this friday when we see a halfback pass to the QB we'll have some coaches yelling that he wasn't in a shotgun. Just great, another weird difference in the NFL that fans will start yelling about.
NO QUESTION! Of course they will ask/yell, Murphy's law!

Like 2 weeks ago, DPI on 4th and goal. After we reported automatic first down, the Defensive captain, yells at us "hey wait, this isn't the NFL, there's no automatic first downs!" I told him just trust me on this one, and ask his coach about it. It never stops amazing me!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 22, 2004, 04:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
Someone tried telling me this week that a personal foul and that a 15 yard facemask are both auto first downs in HS ball.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 22, 2004, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Someone tried telling me this week that a personal foul and that a 15 yard facemask are both auto first downs in HS ball.
REPLY: Obviously that person has read his rule book...unfortunately it was the NCAA rule book!
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 24, 2004, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by BushRef
OK, back to the original play that began this thread. You knew it was bound to happen.

Tonight, BYU Vs Boise State on ESPN. First Quarter, QB is UNDER CENTER. BSU is at about the 20 yard line. QB takes the snap from UNDER CENTER. Hands off. Heads down to the 2, and catches the pass. No flag. BS scores on the next play.

If you have it on TiVo, go check it out.
Hope you don't mean this is illegal or something?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1