The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 19, 2004, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, Washington
Posts: 422
Send a message via ICQ to Jim S Send a message via AIM to Jim S
Quote:
Originally posted by sir_eldren
The catch to the defensive side of the ball is that the player has to meet two requirements to be considered eligible: At the snap, the player must (1) be on the field, and (2) be on his team's side of the neutral zone. If he meets requirement #1, but fails to meet #2 by the snap, then we've got encroachment.
-Craig
Not encroachment under NFHS rules. This is a foul for illegal substitution, as long as he does not participate. If he does, it becomes an illegal participation foul.
BTW, encroachment means breaking the neutral zone, not being on the other side of the ball. What is the foul, if any, for a defensive player (legal player, not a sub) being in A's backfield at the snap? He was there since the end of the previus play. (I know is a theoretical situation, it's for purpose of the rule.)
__________________
Jim Schroeder

Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1