The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 16, 2004, 07:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally posted by SJoldguy
The options are correct as contributed.

They are:

Accept: A's ball 1st and 10 on B15, untimed down. DQ B1

Decline: No untimed down. Halftime. Administer B1's DBF on 2nd half kickoff. DQ B1

midfield.


Look for "Jim's Test Question #2" on a forum near you soon!
Rule 5-2-3c indicates that "... a new series is awarded to: B, if at the end of the fourth down, the ball belongs to A behind the line to gain."
The result of the play is that A has the ball on B's 20 which is behind the line to gain. Accepting the illegal formation penalty on A (which happened during the down) still leaves the ball behind the line to gain.
The dead ball foul happened after the down. So if you follow Rule 5-2-3c, why then, if the penalty is accepted for the illegal formation, is it not B's ball 1st and 10 at B's 15 (for one untimed down)?
__________________
kentref
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1