The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2016, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 91
Ineligible receiver BEHIND LOS catching forward pass

Variation on a theme here.

Ineligible receiver BEHIND LOS catching forward pass.

I have a game tonight where a team very likely will run plays involving this.

The ineligible has an eligible number, but is covered by the end.

NFHS rules

Legal - Yes/ No ?

Citations?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2016, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkishowl20 View Post
Variation on a theme here.

Ineligible receiver BEHIND LOS catching forward pass.

I have a game tonight where a team very likely will run plays involving this.

The ineligible has an eligible number, but is covered by the end.

NFHS rules

Legal - Yes/ No ?

Citations?

It's illegal touching whether caught in front or behind LOS, that distinction is for pass interference rules but not illegal touching. So position of an ineligible receiver is of no consequence, as long as they intentionally touch the ball. Here's a case play that pretty much covers the possibilities:

7.5.13 SITUATION A:

Ineligible receiver A2 is behind, in or beyond his neutral zone and has committed no act against a defender that could be ruled pass interference when a forward pass by A1: (a) accidentally strikes him in the back; or (b) is muffed by him; or (c) is caught by him.

RULING: In (a), there is no foul for illegal touching. In (b) and (c), it is illegal touching. The acts in both (b) and (c) are intentional and not accidental as in (a).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2016, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Had this very thing last week in JV game. A53 stepped in front of A23 on a screen pass. #53 catches it and off he runs..flagged for illegal touching, 5 yards spot foul and loss of down. # 53 had big smile on his face :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1