The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2004, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
R1 signals for a fair catch beyond the neutral zone on K's 40. K2 interfers with R1's opportunity to make the catch. R chooses to put the ball in play with a snap. During the down, A1 gains 15 yards and the coach of B is charged with an unsportslike foul.
Ruling: The unsportsmanlike foul during the down does not give A another choice to snap or free kick.

My Question: On what rule is this interpretation based? I know it is a succeeding spot administration, but where (if any) does the rule book say this should be considered or treated like a dead ball foul (and the down has ended)? It is not a lose of down or auto first down situation (NF) and the foul occurred during the down.

I could buy the arugment that a new series was awarded, therefore we were not replaying the down - except for the fact in the next situation, B commits DPI carrying an auto first down. They say A retains their options.

Why, by rule, should A loose their options?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1